Skip to main content

Sigma Theta Tau

Sigma Theta Tau Phi Chapter logo with quote "Together, we can change lives and advance healthcare."

Sigma Theta Tau is an international honor society for nurses that works to advance world health and celebrates nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership and service. Induction into Sigma Theta Tau is reserved for both graduate and undergraduate students who demonstrate excellence in academic achievement. Nurses who are outstanding community stewards are also eligible for induction as nurse leaders.

Student candidates must demonstrate superior scholastic achievement, academic integrity and professional leadership potential. Nurse leaders must be a registered nurse, have a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field and demonstrate achievement in nursing. Membership is by invitation only. 

Established in 1961, the Phi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International is the 19th national chapter. Phi Chapter has two units—one located in Brookings, SD, and the other located in Rapid City, SD. Additional information can be found here:

Phi Chapter Board

  • President: Mary Isaacson
  • Vice President: Brandi Pravacek
  • Treasurer: Jody Ness
  • Secretary: Danielle Schievelbein
  • Counselors: Anna Atteberry-Gustafson, Becka Foerster, Nicole Albert
  • Governance Chair: Sarah Mollman
  • Leadership Succession Chair: Heidi Pelzel
  • Publicity Chair: Venita Winterboer
  • Research Chair: Brandon Varilek

Phi Chapter Committees

  • Leadership Succession Committee Members: KaSara Sutton
  • Governance Committee: Lois Tschetter, Theresa Garren Grubbs
  • Other Committee Positions: Kessa Tribby, Sylvia Pickard
  • Publicity: Nicole Albert, Heidi Pelzel, Brandon Varilek