Skip to main content

South Dakota State University

Menu
Close Search

Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar is set by the South Dakota Board of Regents

2018 Summer Term

May 7, Monday – May 25, Friday — May Interim

May 28, Monday — Memorial Day Holiday

May 29, Tuesday – August 3, Friday — 10-week Academic Summer Session

July 4, Wednesday — Independence Day Holiday

August 6, Monday – August 17, Friday — August Interim

2018 Fall Term

August 20, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

August 30, Thursday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

August 31, Friday — “W” grade begins

September 3, Monday — Labor Day Holiday

September 7, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Fall 2018

October 8, Monday — Native American Day Holiday

October 12, Friday – First half Fall Term ends

October 17, Wednesday – Deficiency reports due on WebAdvisor by midnight

November 2, Friday — Last day to drop a course

November 12, Monday — Veterans’ Day Holiday Observed

November 21-25, Wednesday - Sunday — Thanksgiving Recess

December 5, Wednesday — No classes; Final Exam Preparation

December 6-12*, Thursday - Wednesday — Final exams

December 17, Monday — Grades due on WebAdvisor by midnight

*December 12 - official graduation date noted on transcript
Note: There is no Fall 2018 Commencement Ceremony.

2019 Spring Term

January 7, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

January 16, Wednesday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

January 17, Thursday — “W” grade begins

January 21, Monday — Martin Luther King Day Holiday

January 25, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Spring 2019

February 18, Monday — Presidents’ Day Holiday

March 4-8, Monday - Friday — Spring Break

March 11, Monday — First half Spring Term ends

March 14, Thursday — Deficiency reports due on WebAdvisor by midnight

April 1, Monday — Last day to drop a course

April 19-21, Friday - Sunday — Easter Recess

April 29-May 3**, Monday - Friday — Final exams

May 4, Saturday — Commencement

May 8, Wednesday — Grades due on WebAdvisor by midnight

**May 3 is the official graduation date noted on transcript for graduating seniors

2019 Summer Term

May 6-24, Monday - Friday — May Interim

May 27, Monday — Memorial Day Holiday

May 28-August 2, Tuesday - Friday — 10-week Academic Summer Session

June 14, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Summer 2019

July 4, Thursday — Independence Day Holiday

August 5-23, Monday - Friday — August Interim