Skip to main content
Menu
Close Search

Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar is set by the South Dakota Board of Regents

2019 Spring Term

January 7, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

January 16, Wednesday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

January 17, Thursday — “W” grade begins

January 21, Monday — Martin Luther King Day Holiday

January 25, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Spring 2019

February 18, Monday — Presidents’ Day Holiday

March 4-8, Monday - Friday — Spring Break

March 11, Monday — First half Spring Term ends

March 14, Thursday — Deficiency reports due on WebAdvisor by midnight

April 1, Monday — Last day to drop a course

April 19-21, Friday - Sunday — Easter Recess

April 29-May 3**, Monday - Friday — Final exams

May 4, Saturday — Commencement

May 8, Wednesday — Grades due on WebAdvisor by midnight

**May 3 is the official graduation date noted on transcript for graduating seniors

2019 Summer Term

May 6-24, Monday - Friday — May Interim

May 27, Monday — Memorial Day Holiday

May 28-August 2, Tuesday - Friday — 10-week Academic Summer Session

June 14, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Summer 2019

July 4, Thursday — Independence Day Holiday

August 5-23, Monday - Friday — August Interim

2019 Fall Term

August 26, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

September 2, Monday — Labor Day Holiday

September 5, Thursday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

September 6, Friday — "W" grade begins

September 13, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Fall 2019

October 14, Monday — Native American Day Holiday

October 18, Friday — First half Fall Term ends

October 23, Wednesday — Deficiency reports due on Self Service by midnight

November 4-5, Monday-Tuesday — Higher Learning Commission On-Site Re-Accreditation Visit

November 8, Friday — Last day to drop a course

November 11, Monday — Veterans' Day Holiday Observed

November 27-December 1, Wednesday-Sunday — Thanksgiving Recess

December 11, Wednesday — No classes; Final Exam Preparation

December 12-18*, Thursday - Wednesday — Final exams

December 23, Monday — Grades due on Self Service by midnight

*December 18 - official graduation date noted on transcript
Note: There is no Fall 2019 Commencement Ceremony.

2020 Spring Term

January 13, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

January 20, Monday — Martin Luther King Day Holiday

January 22, Wednesday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

January 23, Thursday — “W” grade begins

January 31, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Spring 2020

February 17, Monday — Presidents’ Day Holiday

March 9-13, Monday – Friday — Spring Break

March 16, Monday — First half Spring Term ends

March 19, Thursday — Deficiency reports due on Self Service by midnight

April 6, Monday — Last day to drop a course

April 10-12, Friday – Sunday — Easter Recess

May 4- 8**, Monday – Friday — Final exams

May 9, Saturday — Commencement

May 13, Wednesday — Grades due on Self Service by midnight

** May 8 - official graduation date noted on transcript

2020 Summer Term

May 11-29, Monday – Friday — May Interim

May 25, Monday — Memorial Day Holiday

June 1-August 7, Tuesday – Friday — 10-week Academic Summer Session

June 19, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Summer 2020

July 3, Friday — Independence Day Holiday Observed

August 10-21, Monday – Friday — August Interim