Skip to main content
Menu
Close Search

Members

Center for Power Systems Studies Membership Roster

Members

Steven M. Hietpas, Ph.D., PE
Professor, Head, Coordinator CPSS
EE & CSc Dept., SDEH 214
Box 2222
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

Steve Mundahl, PE
Instrument & Control System Supervisor
Basin Electric Power Cooperative
1717 East Interstate Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58503-0564

 

701-557-5669
FAX: 701-557-5322
email: smundahl@bepc.com
homepage: http://www.basinelectric.com

Wes Wingen, PE
Manager, Transmission Services
Black Hills Corporation
PO Box 1400
Rapid City, SD 57709-1400

 

605-721-2268
FAX: 605-721-2735
email: wes.wingen@blackhillscorp.com
homepage: http://www.blackhillscorp.com

Jim Edwards, PE
Chief Operations Officer
East River Electric Power Cooperative, Inc.
211 South Harth Ave., P.O. Box 227
Madison, SD 57042

 

605-256-8002
FAX: 605-256-8058
email: jedwards@eastriver.coop
homepage: http://www.eastriver.coop

Nate Jones, PE
Chief Operations Officer
Heartland Consumers Power District
432 SE 12th St, P.O. Box 248
Madison, SD 57042

 

605-256-6536
FAX: 605-256-2990
email: njones@hcpd.com
homepage: http://www.hcpd.com

Chad D. Orris
Senior Electrical Engineer
MidAmerican Energy Company
P.O. Box 778
Sioux City, IA 51102

 

712-233-4481
FAX:
email: cdorris@midamerican.com
homepage: http://www.midamerican.com

Frank Kornbaum, PE 
Senior Engineer
Minnesota Power Company
1201 11th St. NE
Little Falls, MN 56345

 

320-635-5059
FAX:
email: fkornbaum@mnpower.com
homepage: http://www.mnpower.com

Austin Hoekman, PE
Operations Supervisor
Missouri River Energy Systems
3724 W. Avera Dr., P. O. Box 88920
Sioux Falls, SD  57109-8920

 

605-330-4888
FAX:  605-978-1013
email:  austinh@mrenergy.com
homepage: http://www.mrenergy.com

Steven Arbach, PE
Manager Construction, North Division
NorthWestern Energy
600 Market Street West
Huron, SD  57350-1318

 

605-353-7509
FAX:  605-353-7519
email:  steven.arbach@northwestern.com
homepage:  http://www.northwesternenergy.com/

Joseph Dold
Senior Area Engineer
Otter Tail Power Company
23 East 6th Street
Morris, MN  56267

 

800-346-4920 x6202
FAX:
email: jdold@otpco.com
homepage: http://www.otpco.com

Randy Diede, PE
UGP Maintenance Engineering Manager
Western Area Power Administration
200 4th SW
Huron, SD 57350

 

605-353-2600
FAX: 605-353-2512
email: diede@wapa.gov
homepage: http://www.wapa.gov

Mark Buchholz
Compliance Manager
Western Area Power Administration
1330 41st Street, SE
Watertown, SD 57201

 

605-882-7550 or 1-800-624-8630
FAX: 605-882-7409
email: buchholz@wapa.gov
homepage: http://www.wapa.gov

Jean Waltz, PE
Principal Area Engineer
Xcel Energy, Inc., South Dakota
500 West Russell St.
Sioux Falls, SD 57104

 

605-339-8227
FAX:
email: jean.a.waltz@xcelenergy.com
homepage: http://www.xcelenergy.com

Associate Members

Shawn Whalen
Associate Electrical Engineer  - Communications & Security Specialist
Burns & McDonnell
8201 Norman Center Drive
Minneapolis, MN  55437
952-656-3628
FAX:  952-229-2923
email:  smwhalen@burnsmcd.com
homepage:  http://www.burnsmcd.com
Russell Halgerson, PE
Electric Department Manager
Brookings Municipal Utilities
525 Western Ave. P.O. Box 588
Brookings, SD 57006
605-692-6325
FAX: 605-697-8470
email: rhalgerson@swiftel-bmu.com
homepage: http://www.brooking.net/bmu.html
Blair Metzger, PE
President
DGR Engineering
1302 South Union
Rock Rapids, Iowa 51246
712-472-2531
FAX: 712-472-2710
email: blair.metzger@dgrnet.com
homepage: http://www.dgr.com/
Dick McComish, PE
President, CEO
Electrical Consultants, Inc.
3521 Gabel Road
Billings, MT 59102
406-259-9933
FAX: 406-259-3441
email: dick.mccomish@eciblgs.com
homepage:  http://www.electricalconsultantsinc.com
Doug Post, PE, PEng
President
Interstates Engineering
1520 North Main, P.O. Box 260
Sioux Center, IA 51250
712-722-1662  x2303
FAX: 712-722-1667
email: Doug.Post@interstates.com
homepage: http://www.interstates.com/
Brad Roos 
General Manager
Marshall Municipal Utilities
113 South Fourth Street
Marshall, MN 56258-1223
507-537-7005
FAX: 507-537-6836
email: bradr@marshallutilities.com
homepage: http://www.marshallutilities.com
Jay R. Dring, PE
District Engineering Manager - T&D Operations
Nebraska Public Power District
1414 15th St., PO Box 499
Columbus, NE 68602
402-563-5569
FAX:
email: jrdring@nppd.com
homepage: http://www.nppd.com
Dr. Mike Ropp, PE
President and Principal Engineer
Northern Plains Power Technologies
807 32nd Ave.
Brookings, SD  57006-4716
605-692-8687
FAX: 
email:  michael.ropp@northernplainspower.com
homepage:  http://www.northernplainspower.com/
Tim Ostermeier, PE
Executive VP
POWER Engineers, Inc.
3700 Sturgis Road
Rapid City, SD  57702
406-670-9488
FAX:
email: tostermeier@powereng.com
homepage: http://www.powereng.com/
Chris Graff, PE 
Electric Utility Consultant
Power System Engineering, Inc.
2307 W. 57th Street, Suite 102
Sioux Falls, SD 57108
605-221-1770
FAX:
email: graffc@powersystem.org
homepage: http://www.powersystem.org/
Mike Bowers, PE
Manager of Engineering
Rushmore Electric Power Cooperative
1715 Cambell St., P.O. Box 2414
Rapid City, SD 57709-2414
605-342-4759
FAX: 605-348-2026
email: mjb@rushelec.com
homepage: http://www.rushelec.com/
Ted Smith, PE 
Director of Engineering and Operations
Sioux Valley Energy
P.O. Box 216
Colman, SD 57017-0216
605-256-1608 or 800-234-1960
FAX: 605-256-1693
email: ted.smith@siouxvalleyenergy.com
homepage: http://www.siouxvalleyenergy.com
James (Jim) Thompson, PE
President
T&R Service Company
P.O. Box 197
Colman, SD 57017
605-534-3107 or 1-800-843-7995
FAX: 605-534-3717
email: jim@svtv.com
homepage: http://www.trservice.com/
Kevin Doe, PE
Engineer
Ulteig Engineers
4285 Lexington Ave. N.
St. Paul, MN  55126
651-415-6671
FAX:
email: Kevin.Doe@Ulteig.com
homepage:  http://www.ulteig.com
Todd Chambers 
Director of Operations
Watertown Municipal Utilities Dept.
901 4th Ave. SW
Watertown, SD 57201-410
605-882-6233
FAX: 605-882-6238
email: tchambers@watertownmu.com
homepage: http://watertownmu.com/
Mike Fisher, PE
Electrical Engineer
West Plains Engineering
4609 S. Techlink Circle
Sioux Falls, SD  57106
605-362-3753
FAX: 605-362-3759
email: mike.fisher@westplainsengineering.com
homepage: http://www.westplainsengineering.com/