Skip to main content
Menu
Close Search

Members

Center for Power Systems Studies Membership Roster

Members

Steven M. Hietpas, Ph.D., PE
Professor, Coordinator CPSS
EE & CSc Dept., SDEH 233
Box 2222
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

Steve Mundahl, PE
Instrument & Control System Supervisor
Basin Electric Power Cooperative
1717 East Interstate Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58503

 

701-557-5669

email: smundahl@bepc.com
homepage: http://www.basinelectric.com

Todd Bockorny, PE
Supervisor, Distribution Planning
Black Hills Corporation
7001 Mt. Rushmore Road, PO Box 1400
Rapid City, SD 57702

Dan Coomes, PE
Operations Manager
East River Electric Power Cooperative, Inc.
211 South Harth Ave., P.O. Box 227
Madison, SD 57042

 

605-256-8017

email: dcoomes@eastriver.coop
homepage: http://www.eastriver.coop

Nate Jones, PE
Chief Operations Officer
Heartland Consumers Power District
432 SE 12th St, P.O. Box 248
Madison, SD 57042

 

605-256-6536

email: njones@hcpd.com
homepage: http://www.hcpd.com

Chad D. Orris
Senior Electrical Engineer
MidAmerican Energy Company
P.O. Box 778
Sioux City, IA 51102

 

712-233-4481

email: cdorris@midamerican.com
homepage: http://www.midamerican.com

Austin Hoekman, PE
Operations Supervisor
Missouri River Energy Systems
3724 W. Avera Dr., P. O. Box 88920
Sioux Falls, SD  57109

 

605-330-4888

email:  austinh@mrenergy.com
homepage: http://www.mrenergy.com

Christian Winter, PE
Supervising Engineer - T & D Planning
Minnesota Power Company
30 West Superior Streett
Duluth, MN  55802

 

218-355-2908

email:  cwinter@mnpower.com
homepage:  http://www.mnpower.com/

Joseph Dold
Senior Area Engineer
Otter Tail Power Company
23 East 6th Street
Morris, MN  56267

 

800-346-4920 x6202

email: jdold@otpco.com
homepage: http://www.otpco.com

Randy Diede, PE
UGP Maintenance Engineering Manager
Western Area Power Administration
200 4th SW
Huron, SD 57350

 

605-353-2600

email: diede@wapa.gov
homepage: http://www.wapa.gov

Mark Buchholz
Compliance Manager
Western Area Power Administration
1330 41st Street, SE
Watertown, SD 57201

 

605-882-7550 or 1-800-624-8630

email: buchholz@wapa.gov
homepage: http://www.wapa.gov

Jean Waltz, PE
Principal Area Engineer
Xcel Energy, Inc., South Dakota
500 West Russell St.
Sioux Falls, SD 57104

Craig Fergen, PE
Manager: Construction, South Division
NorthWestern Energy
300 South Burr
Mitchell, SD  57350

Associate Members

Shawn Whalen
Associate Electrical Engineer  - Communications & Security Specialist
Burns & McDonnell
8201 Norman Center Drive
Minneapolis, MN  55437
952-656-3628
FAX:  952-229-2923
email:  smwhalen@burnsmcd.com
homepage:  http://www.burnsmcd.com
Russell Halgerson, PE
Electric Department Manager
Brookings Municipal Utilities
525 Western Ave. P.O. Box 588
Brookings, SD 57006
605-692-6325

email: rhalgerson@swiftel-bmu.com
homepage: http://www.brooking.net/bmu.html
Blair Metzger, PE
President
DGR Engineering
1302 South Union
Rock Rapids, Iowa 51246
712-472-2531

email: blair.metzger@dgrnet.com
homepage: http://www.dgr.com/
Dick McComish, PE
President, CEO
Electrical Consultants, Inc.
3521 Gabel Road
Billings, MT 59102
406-259-9933

email: dick.mccomish@eciblgs.com
homepage:  http://www.electricalconsultantsinc.com
Doug Post, PE, PEng
President
Interstates Engineering
1520 North Main, P.O. Box 260
Sioux Center, IA 51250
712-722-1662  x2303

email: Doug.Post@interstates.com
homepage: http://www.interstates.com/
Brad Roos 
General Manager
Marshall Municipal Utilities
113 South Fourth Street
Marshall, MN 56258-1223
507-537-7005

email: bradr@marshallutilities.com
homepage: http://www.marshallutilities.com
Jay R. Dring, PE
Manager - Engineering & Asset Health - Delivery
Nebraska Public Power District
1414 15th St., PO Box 499
Columbus, NE 68602
402-563-5569

email: jrdring@nppd.com
homepage: http://www.nppd.com
Dr. Mike Ropp, PE
President and Principal Engineer
Northern Plains Power Technologies
807 32nd Ave.
Brookings, SD  57006-4716
605-692-8687

email:  michael.ropp@northernplainspower.com
homepage:  http://www.northernplainspower.com/
W. Joel Lankutis, PE
Substation Project Engineer
POWER Engineers, Inc.
1601 Lewis Avenue, Suite 102
Billings, MT  59102
406-237-2009

email: joel.lankutis@powereng.com
homepage: http://www.powereng.com/
Chris Graff, PE 
Lead System Engineer
Power System Engineering, Inc.
2307 W. 57th Street, Suite 102
Sioux Falls, SD 57108
605-221-1770

email: graffc@powersystem.org
homepage: http://www.powersystem.org/
Mike Bowers, PE
Manager of Engineering
Rushmore Electric Power Cooperative
1715 Cambell St., P.O. Box 2414
Rapid City, SD 57709
605-342-4759

email: mjb@rushelec.com
homepage: http://www.rushelec.com/
Ted Smith, PE 
Director of Engineering and Operations
Sioux Valley Energy
P.O. Box 216
Colman, SD 57017
605-256-1608 or 800-234-1960

email: ted.smith@siouxvalleyenergy.com
homepage: http://www.siouxvalleyenergy.com
James (Jim) Thompson, PE
President
T&R Service Company
P.O. Box 197
Colman, SD 57017
605-534-3107 or 1-800-843-7995

email: jim@svtv.com
homepage: http://www.trservice.com/
Kevin Doe, PE
Engineer
Ulteig Engineers
4285 Lexington Ave. N.
St. Paul, MN  55126
651-415-6671

email: Kevin.Doe@Ulteig.com
homepage:  http://www.ulteig.com
Bert Magstadt, PE
Director of Operations
Watertown Municipal Utilities Dept.
901 4th Ave. SW
Watertown, SD 57201
605-882-6233

email: bmadstadt@watertownmu.com
homepage: http://watertownmu.com/
Mike Fisher, PE
Electrical Engineer
West Plains Engineering
4609 S. Techlink Circle
Sioux Falls, SD  57106
605-362-3753

email: mike.fisher@westplainsengineering.com
homepage: http://www.westplainsengineering.com/
James Turner, PE
Electrical Engineer
STAR Energy Services, LLC
6841 Power Lane SW
Alexandria, MN 56308

320-460-8360

email: JTurner@star-energy.com
homepage: http://www.star-energy.com