Skip to main content

Image for Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Engineering programs have been a vital part of SDSU since 1881, and graduates of the College of Engineering programs have extended the bounds of science and improved our lives in many ways. The College has a rich history and long tradition of providing outstanding graduates who are well prepared for exciting careers in engineering, science, and technology. 

As a part of the Jerome J. Lohr College of Engineering, the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department offers a broad range of major and minor programs, each with unique features that ensure the student of both depth and breadth in their field of study.

Browse our website.  Learn how our programs can enrich your life and help you achieve your career goals.

Our EE and CS Department

The 2021 Electrical Engineering Summer Camp has been canceled.  Watch for announcements about the 2022 camp.

Rolling Blackouts Explained

Dr. Reinaldo Tonkoski Tells How the Cold Affects Wind Turbines

Dr. Reinaldo Tonkoski Named New Hohbach Professor

Computer Science Department to offer Ph.D.

Alumni Spotlight


More News

See the stories at the bottom of this page for more about the people and activities of our department.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science News

See All Our News
SDSU ranked 4th-most affordable residential bachelor's in computer science

SDSU ranked 4th-most affordable residential bachelor's in computer science


South Dakota State University has been ranked fourth among the 30 most affordable residential bachelor's degrees in computer science for 2021 by Computer Science Degree Hub.

SDSU Distinguished Engineer / Adolph Fejfar to be honored for work in ground, aviation systems

Tabor native Adolph Fejfar (Faye-far) credits legendary South Dakota State University football coach Ralph Ginn and an extended streak of good luck for the prominence he gained in a half-century career in ground and aviation electronics with MITRE Corp.

Improving indoor ventilation can reduce spread of COVID-19

Businesses can learn how to be proactive in reducing the spread of COVID-19 by improving indoor ventilation and mitigation strategies through South Dakota State University’s Economic Development Administration Center.