Skip to main content


Rewarding Excellence

The School of Communication and Journalism awards more than $60,000 in scholarships to incoming and returning students. These scholarships are made possible by the generous gifts of alumni and friends of the school.

Incoming Student Scholarships

Incoming students should complete the SDSU Academic Scholarship Application Form the year prior to enrollment. SDSU accepts scholarship applications throughout the year, but you are strongly encouraged to have yours submitted by December 1 of your senior year to receive priority consideration for all awards.

Returning Student Scholarships

Returning students apply for scholarships by logging on to MyState. Once on MyState, select the “Dashboard” tab. Then, if you scroll down, along the right side, you will see the “Scholarship Application” section. Under that section, click “submit”. This will take you to the application website. Once there, click “Apply” button for the SDSU Scholarship Application and follow the “Important Information” Instructions, from there. All students, whether eligible for the Jackrabbit Guarantee Program or not, should submit this application in early February to be eligible for scholarships the following school year.

Unique Opportunities

Jeffrey B. Nelson Investigative Journalism Endowed Internship


*$3,600 Nelson Endowed Internship stipend + $2,000 Chuck Raasch & Sandy Johnson Scholarship

Through the generous support of the Nelson family and prominent SDSU journalism graduates, Chuck Raasch and Sandy Johnson, SDSU students may apply for an endowed internship with South Dakota News Watch. For more information please contact Jim Helland.

The Mobridge Tribune Scholarship & Internship


*$4,800 Internship Stipend + $2,000 Mobridge Tribune Scholarship for the next fall and spring semester

Through the generous support of The Mobridge Tribune, SDSU students may apply for this special internship opportunity. For more information contact Jim Helland.

Available Scholarships

Through the support of generous donors, the School of Communication and Journalism offers the following named scholarships.

Abel, Phillips, Evenson Scholarship

Mary Peterson Arnold Scholarship

James D. Ashley Memorial Scholarship

Nancy Buckmaster Scholarship

Fritz and Ida Clement Scholarship

D.J. Cline Memorial Scholarship

Sid and Imogene Davison Scholarship

Loren E. Donelson Scholarship

David and Doris McMath Evans Memorial Scholarship

Michael P. Freeman Scholarship

E.B. Harding Memorial Scholarship

Les Helgeland Memorial Scholarship

M.H. and Mary Jane Ingalls Scholarship

Sandy Johnson and Charles Raasch Scholarship

Ralph and Alice (Zantow) Kane Scholarship

Phyllis and Bob Karolevitz Scholarship

James Kimball Memorial Scholarship

Ruth Laird and Woody Wentzy Scholarship

Richard and MaryJo Benton Lee Scholarship

Wendell E. Long Memorial Scholarship

Jean E. Macksam Scholarship

Vera Way Marghab Scholarship

David C. Martin Sports Journalism Scholarship

George McCarty Memorial Scholarship in Speech Activities

William J. and Opal A. McDermott Scholarship

Mobridge Tribune Scholarship

Marc and Julie Mooney Family Scholarship

Chad Nelson Memorial Scholarship

Chad Nelson "Let's Do This" Advertising Scholarship

Newspaper Hall Of Fame Scholarship

Nibbelink Scholarship

Mary J. Perpich Scholarship

CDR James F. Roth Scholarship

Benjamin H. Schaphorst Memorial Scholarship

Victory Shorz Advertising Scholarship

Ron and Mary Sorensen Endowed Scholarship

South Dakota Newspaper Association Scholarships

Windsor A. and Pamela P. Straw Memorial Scholarship

Verl Thomson Scholarship

John and Genevieve Whalen Journalism Scholarship

Sandra A. Whalen Scholarship

Barbara Whitehead Memorial Scholarship

Anson and Ada May Yeager Scholarship

Patanna Zimmerman Scholarship