Skip to main content

Scholarships & Financial Information

Tuition & Course Fees

In addition to University Tuition and Fees, DoArch requires an Architecture Course Fee. Further information on the Architecture Course Fee can be found on the Tuition and Fees page.


Each academic year, the Department of Architecture awards teaching, research and administrative positions to our M.Arch students. Students are contacted and invited to apply for positions in the spring each year for the following academic year.

Student Loans

A student loan is an obligation that must be repaid after you complete your degree or cease to be enrolled full-time.

The FAFSA form (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) determines your eligibility for federal/state loan resources. This form is completed online FAFSA after January 1 of each year. Students must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents to fill out this form. The previous year’s federal tax forms should have been completed before you complete the FAFSA form. It is in your best interest to complete the FAFSA form as soon after January 1 as possible - and certainly before March 1.


AIA South Dakota Merit Award

The Merit Award is a scholarship given to one student based on an application and portfolio review. Student submissions will be evaluated based on design ability, creativity and professional promise. 

Information: Scholarships / AIA South Dakota

Deadline: mid-March

Previous Merit Award Winners

 2018 Jacob Ricke
 2017 Guillermo Gonzalez-Cebrian
 2016 Spencer Sommers
 2015 Levi Wager 
 2014 Shawn Barron
 2013 Bobbie Sedlmajer


AIA South Dakota Enrichment Award

The goal of the South Dakota AIA Enrichment Award Scholarship is to give students an opportunity to broaden their perspective and deepen their passion for the architectural profession. This unique award allows students the flexibility to craft an individual proposal for an enrichment experience supporting their education and professional goals. These may include (but not limited to) travel and study abroad, architectural competitions, non-profit work, local or community design interventions, etc. Proposal possibilities are limited only by student creativity.

Information: Scholarships / AIA South Dakota

Deadline: mid-March

Previous DoArch Enrichment Award Winners

 2018 Amanda Jamison Shyanne Kopfmann
 2017 Guillermo Gonzalez-Cebrian 
 2016 Emily Ingemansen  
 2015  Emily Heezen 
 2013 Bobbie Sedlmajer 


TSP/DoArch Scholarship

The TSP/DoArch Scholarship Awards are given every fall to undergraduate students exhibiting excellence in design and professional promise. TSP, Inc. is a full-service architectural firm and a founding supporter of SDSU DoArch, the first program of its kind in the state. 

Deadline: mid-November

Previous Scholarship Winners

 2017Shyanne KopfmannCody SadlerRebecca Woytassek
 2016Guillermo Gonzalez-CebrianKyle KueperCassie Pospishil
 2015Carlyn GilbertsonJacob RickeLevi Wager
 Emily Heezen  
 2014Shawn Barron Ansley ProdoehlMatthew Sjurseth
 2013Godwin AnninMackenzie LaneBobbie Sedlmajer
 Emily HeezenSienna MathiesenCourtney Woolheater
 2012Miranda ChristensenBobbie SedlmajerGarrett Walter
 Kyle McCurrySpencer SommersDaniel Wevik
 Sienna Mathiesen  
 2011DJ Bilka Jared SchremppJosh Wagner
 Dustin Jones Bobbie SedlmajerDaniel Wevik
 Sienna MathiesenJacob Urban 

Harold Spitznagel Architectural Graduate Studies Fellowship 

The Spitznagel Fellowship sponsored by TSP, Inc. is a Fellowship work experience and scholarship offered annually to outstanding graduate architecture students. A summer position is given through an application and interview process to candidates showing exceptional talent, technical ability and professional promise. 

Eligibility: Graduate students in good standing, currently enrolled in the SDSU Master’s of Architecture degree program, who have successfully completed ARCH 551, and are scheduled to graduate no more than 12 months after the start of the Fellowship work experience. 

Deadline: mid-November

Previous Fellowship Awards

 2018Emily Lineham
 2017Alejandro Marin
 2016Anthony Dyk