Skip to main content

South Dakota Governor’s 9th Biennial Art Exhibition

Open -
Sun: 12:00 pm-4:00 pm. (closed Sundays in March)
Mon - Fri: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-4:00 pm
South Dakota Governor's 9th Biennial Art Exhibition logo

The South Dakota Governor's Biennial is designed “to recognize and encourage South Dakota artists, to promote the artistic identity of South Dakota, to celebrate the cultural and artistic heritage and future of South Dakota, and to encourage a larger sense of community and connection across separate artistic communities within the state.” The 9th Biennial begins at the South Dakota Art Museum (March 19 - June 13, 2021) before traveling to the Washington Pavilion in Sioux Falls (June 26  – September 19, 2021), the John A. Day Gallery at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion (October 16  – November 5, 2021) and the Dahl Arts Center in Rapid City (December 3, 2021– March 5, 2022).

Exhibiting Artists

To be announced.


This exhibit is made possible in part by the generous support of the South Dakota Arts Council with the sponsorship of the South Dakota Governor's Office. We thank all of the artists who submitted their work, and Governor Noam, whose endorsement enables this exhibition to continue to document and exhibit the art made here and now in South Dakota.

South Dakota Arts Council logo
South Dakota State Seal