Skip to main content

South Dakota Governor’s 10th Biennial Art Exhibition

Open -


Join us Feb. 16, 4:30 - 7 pm, for the opening reception. All are welcome!  reception details

SD Governor's 10th Biennial Art Exhibition catalog cover - SDAM

The South Dakota Governor’s Biennial Art Exhibition was established in 2003 to recognize and encourage South Dakota artists, to promote the artistic identity of South Dakota, to celebrate the cultural heritage and future of South Dakota, and to encourage a larger sense of community and connection across separate artistic communities within the state.

The biennial exhibitions are a snapshot of the tremendous quality and unique diversity of artistic creativity in the state at a specific point in time. Their accompanying catalogs serve as valuable permanent records that help to trace historical developments and connections within the state.

The biennial travels across the state to multiple venues and is organized through the collaborative efforts of statewide institutions. A juried show open to artists currently living and working in South Dakota, selections were made by a panel of representatives from each of the four exhibiting galleries and museums.

The South Dakota Art Museum is proud to serve as the opening venue for this 10th biennial. After its display here the show will travel to the John A. Day Gallery at the University of South Dakota, Vermillion (Jun 19—Aug 4, 2023), the Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science, Sioux Falls (Aug 25—Nov 12, 2023), and the Dahl Arts Center at the Rapid City Arts Council, Rapid City (Dec 8, 2023—Mar 30, 2024).

We’d like to congratulate all of the participating artists and thank all artists who submitted work for review. Your participation and engagement with this competitive process is an important way to keep this showcase and your practices vital. We’d like to thank Governor Noem for endorsing and supporting this exhibition for the second time as governor. Her endorsement is an important recognition of the value of the arts for the leaders of our state. We’d also like to thank the South Dakota Arts Council for its continued support of the governor’s biennial art exhibitions. The state arts council provides major financial support for the organization of the show, its travel across the state, and for the acquisition of works by South Dakota artists from the exhibition for the collections of the exhibiting institutions. Without the support of all involved, a showcase such as this would not be possible.

Exhibiting Artists

Tenyoh ♦ John Banasiak ♦ Michael Baum ♦ Bridget Beck ♦ Diana Behl ♦ Angela Behrends ♦ Chris Benson ♦ Paul Boerboom ♦ Amanda Boerger ♦ Bonnie Brahms ♦ Dillon Bryant ♦ Luke Bryant ♦ Skott Chandler ♦ Tom Dempster ♦ Wyatt Dickson ♦ Susan Drey ♦ Jordan Eaton ♦ Lonnie Ellis ♦ Molly Fulton ♦ Carol Geu ♦ Gina Gibson ♦ Kristi Goodell-Nordbye ♦ Luke Gorder ♦ Sharon Gray ♦ Becky Grismer ♦ Bonnie Halsey-Dutton ♦ Amber Hansen ♦ Seth Harwood ♦ Liz Heeren ♦ Susan Heggestad ♦ Jodi Jensen Vittitoe ♦ Thomas Jones ♦ Don Kates ♦ Epiphany Knedler ♦ Andrew Kosten ♦ Amy Lehman ♦ Dennis Linn ♦ Christopher Meyer ♦ Mikayla Meyer ♦ Darcy Millette ♦ Allen Morris ♦ Darrel Nelson ♦ Quintin Owens ♦ Scott Parsons ♦ Paul Peterson ♦ Tim Peterson ♦ James Pollock ♦ Nick Poppens ♦ James Quigley ♦ Jessie Rasche ♦ Jerry Rawlings ♦ Anna Reich ♦ Peter Reichardt ♦ Tim Rickett ♦ Camille Riner ♦ Erik Ritter ♦ Elvis Rosendo ♦ Joe Schaeffer ♦ J. Desy Schoenewies ♦ Michelle St. Vrain ♦ Tim Steele ♦ Mark Stemwedel ♦ Daniel Tackett ♦ Lindsay Twa ♦ Emilia Van Ert ♦ Matthew Whitehead ♦ Erin Wohletz ♦ Anna Youngers ♦ Tonna Zieske


This exhibit is made possible in part by the generous support of the South Dakota Arts Council with the sponsorship of the South Dakota Governor's Office. We thank all of the artists who submit their work, and Governor Noem, whose endorsement enables this exhibition to continue to document and exhibit the art made here and now in South Dakota.

South Dakota Arts Council logo
South Dakota State Seal