Skip to main content

President Barry Dunn’s statement on the South Dakota Board of Regents support of South Dakota Advantage expansion

Today the South Dakota Board of Regents approved extending the South Dakota Advantage tuition rate to Minnesota residents, in addition to students from Kansas and Missouri, beginning this summer. The program offers students from those states South Dakota resident tuition rates. 

“We are extremely excited to offer new students from Minnesota and other neighboring states a very competitive rate to attend South Dakota State University and receive the benefits of higher education from a premier land-grant university with more than 85 different majors,” Dunn said. “Land-grant universities provide access to higher education for those who qualify, and a major component of that access is making it affordable for the students and their families. 

“Our university is home to thousands of students from states throughout the Midwest, and giving them a world-class education with affordable tuition allows them to pursue their academic dreams and prepare for a dynamic future,” Dunn added. “It is our job as a university to provide them with training and education through critical thinking and experiential learning opportunities as they become the next generation of leaders who will address the workforce needs of our state, region, country and world.” 

The tuition value will go into effect for new students enrolled in the 2024 summer term and beyond. Current Minnesota students enrolled will continue to receive the Minnesota reciprocity rate until graduation. The South Dakota Advantage program also includes the states of Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, Nebraska, North Dakota, Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa.



You may republish SDSU News Center articles for free, online or in print. Questions? Contact us at or 605-688-6161.