Skip to main content

Office of Academic Affairs

Dennis Hedge

Dennis Hedge, Pharm.D.
Provost and Vice President
for Academic Affairs

Dennis Hedge, former dean of South Dakota State University’s College of Pharmacy and professor of pharmacy, is provost and vice president for academic affairs of South Dakota State University.

He has served as dean since 2008. A native of Hoxie, Kansas, Hedge earned his pharmacy doctorate from the University of Kansas in 1991, followed by a one-year residency in clinical pharmacy at Barnes Hospital in St. Louis. He came to SDSU in 1992 in the dual role of assistant professor of clinical pharmacy and as a clinical pharmacist at Avera McKennan Hospital in Sioux Falls. He became an associate professor, then professor, head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice in 2003 and associate dean of the college in 2007.

Hedge served as the university’s lead in establishing the Master of Public Health degree, a collaboration with the University of South Dakota School of Health Sciences. Other noteworthy accomplishments of the college under his leadership include: securing funding for two endowed faculty positions; launching a community pharmacy residency program; integrating interprofessional education activities at all levels of the Doctor of Pharmacy curriculum; implementing a new admission process for the Pharm.D. program; creating a new tuition structure for the professional program; and presiding over a significant increase in research activity and scholarly output among college faculty.

He was involved in the development and construction of the Avera Health and Science Center that included a $15 million commitment from Avera Health, the single largest gift made to the SDSU Foundation. The facility has significantly enhanced the faculty’s ability to educate future health professionals to address the nation’s health-care workforce needs and conduct research. Research activity in the College of Pharmacy has doubled since the center opened to around $1 million a year.

In addition, Hedge has held multiple leadership positions with advisory boards and committees and received the South Dakota Pharmacists Association Honorary President Award in 2011.

Morrill Hall (SAD), Room 230