Skip to main content

Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar is set by the South Dakota Board of Regents

2016 Fall Term

August 22, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

September 1, Thursday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

September 2, Friday — “W” grade begins

September 5, Monday — Labor Day Holiday

September 9, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Fall 2016

October 10, Monday — Native American Day Holiday

October 14, Friday — First half Fall Term ends

October 19, Wednesday — Deficiency reports due on WebAdvisor by midnight

November 4, Friday — Last day to drop a course

November 11, Friday — Veterans’ Day Holiday

November 23-27, Wednesday - Sunday — Thanksgiving Recess

December 7, Wednesday — No classes; Final Exam Preparation

December 8-14,* Thursday - Wednesday  — Final exams

December 19, Monday — Grades due on WebAdvisor by midnight *

Note: There is no Fall 2016 Commencement Ceremony. Dec. 14 will be the official graduation date noted on the transcript

2017 Spring Term

January 9, Monday — Start Date/Instruction Begins

January 16, Monday — Martin Luther King Day Holiday

January 18, Wednesday — Last day to drop or add and adjust final fees

January 19, Thursday — “W” grade begins

January 27, Friday — Last day to submit a graduation application for Spring 2017

February 20, Monday — Presidents’ Day Holiday

March 6-10, Monday - Friday — Spring Break

March 13, Monday — First half Spring Term ends

March 16, Thursday — Deficiency reports due on WebAdvisor by midnight

April 3, Monday — Last day to drop a course

April 14-16, Friday - Sunday — Easter Recess

May 1-5, Monday - Friday — Final exams

May 6, Saturday — 131st Annual Commencement

May 10, Wednesday — Grades due on WebAdvisor by midnight **

Note: May 5 will be the official graduation date noted on transcript 2017

Summer Term

May 8, Monday – May 26, Friday — May Interim

May 29, Monday — Memorial Day Holiday

May 30, Tuesday – August 4, Friday — 10-week Academic Summer Session

July 4, Tuesday — Independence Day Holiday

August 7, Monday – August 18, Friday — August Interim