Skip to main content

Student Leadership Opportunities

Honors College Student Organization

The Honors College Student Organization (HCSO) is the main group that organizes events for Honors students. The executive board leads monthly meetings, in addition to organizing social and service events throughout the year. Members of the 2018-2019 HCSO executive board include:

  • Natalie Swanson – President
  • Thane Henschel – Vice President
  • Moriah Flanagan – Treasurer
  • Emma Spors – Secretary
  • Cory Murphy – Public Representative
  • Kaydra Hart-Bedell – Social Chair
  • Anastasia Hoffer – Service Chair


Dean's Student Advisory Council

The Dean's Student Advisory Council is comprised of Honors students from each academic college. This group of students is responsible for advising the Dean on matters relevant to Honors students and implementing programs and initiatives that support student success. Current members include:

  • Megan Fiala 
  • Khalil Ford 
  • Kevy Konynenbelt
  • Natalie Swanson
  • Dom Weber
  • Amanda Husted 
  • Bailey Beauchamp 
  • Brittni Franken 
  • Kaylan Untiedt 
  • Kylee Essen 
  • Tessa Sleep
  • Nicholas Carlson 
  • Thane Henschel 
  • Jillian Ewald 
  • Alanna Ivers 
  • Madison Dulas


Teaching Assistants

The Honors College employs several students each year to serve as Teaching Assistants (TAs) in the Honors Orientation (HON 100) courses and other introductory Honors courses. This is a tremendous opportunity for students to make connections with fellow Honors students and gain leadership skills. Students also have the opportunity to receive upper-division Honors credit for serving as a TA.  


Peer Mentoring Program

Honors students are invited to serve as peer mentors for the incoming class of new students each fall. Students who volunteer as mentors are paired with an incoming Honors student--often based on major or interests--and meet once a month throughout the fall semester. Mentors serve as resources for the incoming students and answer questions about both Honors and the broader university experience. 


Student Recruitment Team 

The Student Recruitment Team is an initiative that allows current Honors students to assist with Admissions visits with prospective students and their families. Members of the recruitment team also participate in events such as Honors Visit Day, Senior Day, and Jackrabbit Receptions. This effort gives prospective students a better idea of what it is really like to be an Honors student at SDSU and allows current Honors students to gain communication skills and experience.



Learning and experiencing leadership is a critical component of an Honors education. The Van D. & Barbara B. Fishback Honors College helps to coordinate the LeadState program, a leadership development program for college sophomores focused on strengths-based leadership, service, and the social change model for leadership development. Fifty to sixty new students take part in LeadState each semester, and more information about the program can be found here.


Honors Hall Government

The Honors Hall Government is elected by students who live in Honors Hall each year. 2017-2018 Hall Government representatives included:

  • Vanessa Konynenbelt – President
  • Turner Frank – Vice President
  • Andrew White – Treasurer
  • Josh Loecker – Secretary
  • Jerrod Fedorchik – Event Coordinator
  • Abigail Morgan – Event Coordinator
  • Sharon Dosland – Publicist
  • Sydney Berry – Publicist
  • Kelsey Bender – RHA Representative
  • Amanda Husted – UFSAC Representative