Skip to main content

Students' Association Advisors of the Year announced in professional and faculty advisor categories

March 31, 2020

Students’ Association President Allyson Monson announced the winners of the Students’ Association Advisor of the Year Award during the SA Senate meeting held Monday, March 30th, at 7:00pm via Zoom video conference.

The SDSU student body recognizes outstanding faculty and professional academic advisors each year through the Students’ Association Advisor of the Year Award, an honor nominated and awarded entirely by SDSU students. Advisors of the Year are named in both faculty advisor and professional advisor categories. 

More information about the Advisor of the Year Award and the selection process is available on the SA website.

Dr. Jaime Lopez, assistant professor in the Department of Biology and Microbiology, was selected as the Advisor of the Year Award recipient in the faculty advisor category.

The nomination for Dr. Lopez emphasized his work advancing students’ research ventures and professional growth, particularly for his graduate advisees. According to the nomination, “Dr. Lopez goes above and beyond in three main ways: He challenges students to reach their full potential, he suggests ways to improve, and he recognizes a job well done.” When asked how the nominee embodies one or more of SDSU’s core values, a student wrote that Dr. Lopez demonstrates excellence in his work on campus and in the community, always looking for service opportunities and places to offer a helping hand.

Jennie Sell, Assistant Athletic Director for Academics, was selected as the Advisor of the Year Award recipient in the professional advisor category.

In nominating Jennie Sell, a student wrote about the many ways in which Jennie serves 272 student athletes across seven sports to ensure they succeed in the classroom and graduate on time. The nomination stated, “It is easy for students to see that Jennie gives 100% to her job and her advisees. In turn, witnessing Jennie’s enthusiasm, energy, and tireless work ethic inspires students to reach higher and strive for more.” People-centered is a strong core value Jennie demonstrates, the student wrote, because of the joy she takes in her work and the ways she helps students with a variety of backgrounds feel at home at SDSU.

Several other academic advisors were nominated for the Advisor of the Year Award based on their outstanding work supporting SDSU students:

  • Stephanie Bebensee
  • Katie Grayson
  • Kayte Haggerty
  • Melissa Ochsner
  • Nicole Peschong
  • Erica Quam

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Jaime Lopez, Jennie Sell, and all Advisor of the Year nominees and thanking them for their service to SDSU students.

The Students’ Association is comprised of all General Activity Fee-paying students at SDSU. The Students’ Association Senate is the official student government organization at SDSU, consisting of 26 senators representing each of the academic colleges and the student body president and vice president. The Students’ Association Senate meets weekly during the academic year on Mondays at 7:00PM in the Lewis & Clark Room of the Student Union. Further information is available at Questions or media inquiries should be directed to

South Dakota State University Students’ Association
University Student Union 128, Box 2815
Brookings, SD 57007
Phone: 605-688-5181