Skip to main content

South Dakota Governor’s 8th Biennial Art Exhibition

Share this

Open -
Sun: 12:00 pm-4:00 pm
Mon - Fri: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-4:00 pm
South Dakota Governor’s 8th Biennial Art Exhibition logo

The South Dakota Governor’s Biennial is designed “to recognize and encourage South Dakota artists, to promote the artistic identity of South Dakota, to celebrate the cultural and artistic heritage and future of South Dakota and to encourage a larger sense of community and connection across separate artistic communities within the state.” The 8th Biennial begins at the South Dakota Art Museum (Jan. 25, 2019 - April 20, 2019) before traveling to the Dahl Arts Center, Rapid City (May 3, 2019 - Aug. 17, 2019); the John A. Day Gallery, Vermilion (Aug. 30, 2019 - Oct. 11, 2019) and the Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science, Sioux Falls (Oct. 26, 2019 - Jan. 19, 2020).

Exhibiting Artists

Lynda Clark Adelstein, Steve Babbitt, John Banasiak, Michael Baum, Diana Behl, Angela Behrends, Eden Bhatta, Keith BraveHeart, Roger Broer, Gratia Brown, Chad and Kiesha Dykstra, Dede Farrar, Jeff Freeman, Luke Gorder, Jim Green, Amber Hansen, Liz Heeren, Susan Heggestad, JoAnn Hoffman, Thomas Jones, Don Kates, Young Ae Kim, Cory Knedler, Andrew Kosten, Dale Lamphere, Carolyne D. Landon, Amy Lehman, Harriet Lievan, Klaire Lockheart, Christopher Meyer, Anthony Millette, Darcy Millette, Deborah Mitchell, Katie Munson, Safet Musinovic, Sandra Newman, Nancy Olive, Timothy Orme, Quintin Owens, Aaron Packard, Phyllis Packard, Wade Patton, Mike Paul, Paul Peterson, Tim Peterson, Jessie Rasche, Jerry Rawlings, Peter Reichardt, Camille Riner, Cristen Roghair, J. Desy Schoenewies, Jean Selvy Wyss, Robert Semrad, Eli Show, Barbara Sparks, Daniel Tackett, Lynn Thorpe, Tom Thorson, Lindsay Twa, Ray Tysdal, Jodi Vittitoe, Dwayne Wilcox and Anna Youngers


This exhibit is made possible in part by the generous support of the South Dakota Arts Council with the sponsorship of the South Dakota Governor's Office. We thank all of the artists who submitted their work, and Gov. Daugaard, whose endorsement enables this exhibition to continue to document and exhibit the art made here and now in South Dakota.

South Dakota Arts Council logo
South Dakota State Seal