Skip to main content
Southeast Research Farm

SDSU Southeast Research Farm

Upcoming Events:

  • Summer field day: July 9, 2024
  • Fall field day: Sept. 12, 2024

About Southeast Research Farm

Around 1955, a group of progressive farmers began efforts to create an association that would be concerned with agricultural research in southeast South Dakota. On May 3, 1956, a non-profit organization, the Southeast Experiment Farm Corporation, was formed. The purpose of the corporation was to acquire and disseminate information concerning crop and livestock production.

The business affairs of the corporation are handled by a very active board of directors. Members of the board are elected for a two-year term from each participating county. An annual meeting is held each year to allow members to review the activities of the corporation and hear reports on progress of research projects and make suggestions on research that may need to be added to solve upcoming problems. Because the corporation is non-profit, all funds generated by the corporation are used to advance research through improvement of buildings and facilities located at the station.

Southeast Research Farm Board of Directors

  • Alvin Novak, chairman - Yankton County
  • Jonathan Hagena, vice-chair - Lincoln County
  • John Fahlberg, treasurer - Lincoln County
  • Norman Uherka - Charles Mix County
  • John Shubeck - Clay County 
  • David Ostrem - Clay County 
  • Lee Brockmueller - Hutchinson County 
  • Shane Nelson - Lincoln County 
  • Travis Machmiller - Minnehaha County 
  • Chuck Wirth - Turner County 
  • Shane Merrill - Turner County
  • Harley Lerseth - Union County
  • Greg Kleinhans - Union County
  • Todd Bye - Yankton County

Southeast Research Farm Staff

  • Peter Sexton, farm supervisor, associate professor and SDSU Extension sustainable cropping systems specialist
  • Brad Rops, operations manager
  • Scott Bird, ag research manager/specialist-livestock
  • Joslyn Fousert, agronomy horticulture research assistant
  • Ruth Stevens, senior secretary
  • Denver Nordmann, agricultural foreman
  • Addyson Brandsrud, summer agricultural technician
  • Vacant, temporary agricultural technician

Watch our 2020 Virtual Field Day

SDSU Southeast Research Farm News

See All Our News
Participants gather in a wheat field at Dakota Lakes Research Farm, listening to a field day speaker.

College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences announces summer field days

The South Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station hosts research station tours for the public every summer. Each station, part of South Dakota State University and supporting programs in several colleges and SDSU Extension, will be the site of field days with guided tours and presentations showcasing research being conducted there. These tours are led by SDSU research and Extension staff.