The Wayne E. Knabach Award for Excellence in Power

Purpose

1. This award is given annually to an individual or a company that contributes to the advancement of the power industry and/or to the CPSS.

2. This award is designed to highlight the exceptional achievements that either companies or individuals have given to further the industry and/or the CPSS.

Form of Recognition

1. The recipient will receive a plaque.

2. The recipient will be recognized at the fall awards banquet.

3. The winner of the award will be admitted to the fall CPSS meeting events free of charge.

Frequency of Award

1. To ensure that the award is given to appropriately qualified recipients and to maintain the prestigious nature of the award, it might not be awarded every year.

Eligibility

1. This award is eligible to all employees of CPSS members and associate members.

2. It may also be available to anyone within the power industry that has contributed to the overall advancement of the power industry.

3. Past CPSS Member (or Associate Member) of the Year Award or the Wayne E. Knabach Award for Excellence in Power recipient's previous achievements will not be considered when determining a future Wayne E. Knabach Award for Excellence in Power recipient.

Deadline for Nomination

1. The deadline for all nominations is the spring meeting.

2. All nominating forms need to be to the awards committee prior to the CPSS spring meeting.

Nomination Procedure

1. Nomination of candidates can be made by any employee of a member or associate member of the CPSS, or past recipients.

2. Nomination form

3. Nomination form should be submitted to either to the CPSS Coordinator, who will distribute to the Awards Committee, or directly to the committee members.

Awards Committee

1. The committee will have four individuals:

• two individuals from CPSS members

- one individual from a CPSS associate member, and
- the winner of the previous year's award

2. In the case of a tie vote of the committee, the Coordinator of the CPSS will cast the deciding vote.

3. The committee membership will be appointment-staggered in its membership, with overlapping appointments, i.e., each year only one new member will be nominated to replace a retiring committee member.

4. Each of the committee members, other than last year's winner, will serve a three year term.

5. The previous year's award position will rotate each year, except in the case where an annual award was not given in the previous year.

Selection Criteria

1. Selection of the award winner will be based upon the dedication, expertise, and outstanding efforts of the individual or company.

2. Of particular importance is evidence of the candidate's promotion of the importance of the power engineering profession and the people practicing in it,

- work in encouraging industry involvement with university power
- engineering programs,
- encouragement of young engineers through mentoring and career
- development programs,
- involvement in recognition programs for power engineers,
- encouragement of professional activities by practitioners,
- involvement in other power engineering activities important to the
- promotion of the power engineering profession.