Skip to main content

Stenvig honored by multiple organizations

tom stenvig

Tom Stenvig ’91, an associate professor in the College of Nursing, was inducted as a fellow to the American Academy of Nursing Oct. 17, 2015, in Washington, D.C. In addition, Mary Ann Krogh ’85/’11 Ph.D. was also selected.

“I’m deeply honored,” said Stenvig. “I know a lot of people who are Academy fellows. It’ll be a great time to be there and see them. I finally get to join their club.”

The academy is comprised of more than 2,300 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research. The academy fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans and renowned scientific researchers.

“The American Academy of Nursing welcomes this stellar cohort of new fellows,” said academy president Diana Mason, Ph.D., RN, FAAN. “As clinicians, researchers, educators, executives and leaders in all sectors of our society, they are joining the nation’s thought leaders in nursing and health care.”

Stenvig and Krogh join the list of AAN fellows with ties to South Dakota State. They are: Sandra Bunkers, Nancy Fahrenwald, Roxanne Romness Foster, Marge Hegge, Linda Herrick, Karen Billars Heusinkveld, Jo Ellen Koerner, Joan Kub, Alfred Lupien, Carol Peterson, Barbara Redman and Michael Relf.

“Dr. Stenvig’s public health nursing endeavors have benefited large populations through his teaching and practice efforts,” said Robert Piemonte, who nominated Stenvig and has been honored as a “Living Legend” by the AAN. “His work with vaccination has set him apart as an extraordinary nursing leader. The academy will be richly served by his contribution of clinical knowledge and public health expertise, which will further enhance its mission.”

Earlier in 2015, Stenvig was recognized at the college’s 80th anniversary gala for his work with underserved or impoverished populations in South Dakota and beyond.

Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and well-being of all.

Receives G.J. Van Heuvelen Award from the S.D. Public Health Association
A noted expert in public health practice and policy formation emphasizing vaccination against vaccine-preventable diseases, Stenvig was unanimously selected as the G.J. Van Heuvelen Award recipient by the South Dakota Public Health Association executive board.

“I’m a public health person. When I think of public health, I think of it through the eyes of a nurse, and when I think of nursing, I think of it through the eyes of public health,” said Stenvig, who has been a College of Nursing faculty member since 2001. “They go hand-in-hand for me and that has really been a hallmark of my career.”

Stenvig was selected due to his dedication and commitment to the SDPhA. He has held leadership positions in the SDPhA, South Dakota Nurses Association and the American Nurses Association, including a term as the second president of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Stenvig is board certified in nursing administration at the advanced level, and is the recipient of numerous awards for professional and association work. He received the American Nurses Association Distinguished Member Award in 2010 and was inducted into the South Dakota Nurses Association Hall of Fame in 2013.

The SDPhA’s most distinguished award, the Van Heuvelen Award is in honor of his 36 years of service at the South Dakota State Health Office. The award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to public health in South Dakota. Dr. Van Heuvelen was a Herried native who joined the state health department in 1936 after three years of private practice in Elk Point. He was named the State Health Officer in 1949 and served in that position until he retired July 1, 1970.

Any member of the SDPhA can nominate candidates. The organization’s executive board gathers nominations and then selects appropriate candidates for the awards.

A registered nurse who has been active in public health and nursing association work throughout his career, Stenvig is retired from the United States Public Health Service. He is an expert in public health practice and policy formation emphasizing vaccination against vaccine-preventable diseases, culminating in appointment to the National Vaccine Advisory Committee by the Assistant Secretary for Health from 2011 to 2015.

He currently teaches graduate and undergraduate courses at South Dakota State, including a course in the Master of Public Health degree program.