Skip to main content

Scholarships and Financial Information

Tuition and Course Fees

In addition to university tuition and fees, Architecture requires an Architecture Course Fee. Further information on the Architecture Course Fee can be found on the Tuition and Fees page.


Each academic year, the Architecture Program awards teaching, research and administrative positions to our M.Arch. students. Students are contacted and invited to apply for positions in the spring each year for the following academic year.

Student Loans

A student loan is an obligation that must be repaid after you complete your degree or cease to be enrolled full-time.

The FAFSA form (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) determines your eligibility for federal/state loan resources. This form is completed online FAFSA after Jan. 1 of each year. Students must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents to fill out this form. The previous year’s federal tax forms should have been completed before you complete the FAFSA form. It is in your best interest to complete the FAFSA form as soon after Jan. 1 as possible - and certainly before March 1.


The Merit Award is a scholarship given to one student based on an application and portfolio review. Student submissions will be evaluated based on design ability, creativity and professional promise. 

Information: Scholarships / AIA South Dakota

Deadline: mid-March

Previous Merit Award Winners

  • 2019 - Drew Doyle
  • 2018 - Jacob Ricke
  • 2017 - Guillermo Gonzalez-Cebrian
  • 2016 - Spencer Sommers
  • 2015 - Levi Wager
  • 2014 - Shawn Barron
  • 2013 - Bobbie Sedlmajer

The goal of the South Dakota AIA Enrichment Award Scholarship is to give students an opportunity to broaden their perspective and deepen their passion for the architectural profession. This unique award allows students the flexibility to craft an individual proposal for an enrichment experience supporting their education and professional goals. These may include (but not limited to) travel and study abroad, architectural competitions, non-profit work, local or community design interventions, etc. Proposal possibilities are limited only by student creativity.

Information: Scholarships / AIA South Dakota

Deadline: mid-March

Previous Architecture Enrichment Award Winners

  • 2021 - Nathaniel Krueger
  • 2018 - Amanda Jamison and Shyanne Kopfmann
  • 2017 - Guillermo Gonzalez-Cebrian
  • 2016 - Emily Ingemansen
  • 2015 - Emily Heezen
  • 2013 - Bobbie Sedlmajer

The TSP/Architecture Scholarship Awards are given every fall to undergraduate students exhibiting excellence in design and professional promise. TSP, Inc. is a full-service architectural firm and a founding supporter of SDSU Architecture, the first program of its kind in the state. 

Deadline: mid-November

Previous Scholarship Winners

  • 2017 - Shyanne Kopfmann, Cody Sadler, Rebecca Woytassek
  • 2016 - Guillermo Gonzalez-Cebrian, Kyle Kueper, Cassie Pospishil
  • 2015 - Caryln Gilbertson, Jacob Ricke, Levi Wager, Emily Heezen
  • 2014 - Shawn Barron, Ansley Prodoehl, Matthew Sjurseth
  • 2013 - Godwin Annin, Mackenzie Lane, Bobbie Sedlmajer, Emily Heezen, Sienna Mathiesen, Courtney Woolheater
  • 2012 - Miranda Christensen, Bobbie Sedlmajer, Garrett Walter, Kyle McCurry, Spencer Sommers, Daniel Wevik, Sienna Mathiesen
  • 2011 - DJ Bilka, Jared Schrempp, Josh Wagner, Dustin Jones, Bobbie Sedlmajer, Daniel Wevik, Sienna Mathiesen, Jacob Urban

The Spitznagel Fellowship sponsored by TSP, Inc. is a Fellowship work experience and scholarship offered annually to outstanding graduate architecture students. A summer position is given through an application and interview process to candidates showing exceptional talent, technical ability and professional promise. 

Eligibility: Graduate students in good standing, currently enrolled in the SDSU Master’s of Architecture degree program, who have successfully completed ARCH 551 and are scheduled to graduate no more than 12 months after the start of the Fellowship work experience. 

Deadline: mid-November

Previous Fellowship Awards

  • 2018 - Emily Lineham
  • 2017 - Alejandro Marin
  • 2016 - Anthony Dyk