Skip to main content

South Dakota Outstanding Physical Science Teacher Award

The South Dakota Science Teachers Association in conjunction with Neiman Enterprises and Rushmore Forest Products, Inc.  and coordinated by the South Dakota State University Physics Department, announces the 44th presentation of the Outstanding Physical Science Teacher Award in the state of South Dakota. The recipient of this award receives a plaque and a cash award to support their efforts to teach physical sciences with equipment or perhaps help to attend a conference or workshop. This year the award will go to a teacher at a school in a smaller population area with a teacher in a larger population area being recognized next year. You are encouraged to submit nominations for this year regardless of your school’s size as nominations are saved and reviewed for several years.

Teachers in the areas of physical science, physics, chemistry, meteorology, and astronomy including grades 7-12, are eligible for the award. To apply, a nominee must submit:
- An application form
- An educational philosophy statement
- At least four recommendation forms (more if you wish) from

• A supervisor (principal or superintendent)
• A colleague (does not have to be teaching in the physical sciences)
• Two former students

The required forms are available from or or call the Physics Department at 605-688-5428.

It is important that the information on these forms be as detailed as possible to adequately evaluate each application/nomination. The forms should be returned by Wednesday, January 5, 2022 1 to the SDSU Physics Department, SDEH 255, Box 2222, Brookings, SD 57007 or emailed to Larry Browning.

If you need further information please contact or or call the Physics Department at 605-688-5428.