Skip to main content

Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

Since its creation, the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education has recognized and celebrated more than 100 remarkable leaders in all areas of education who have had a profound and lasting impact on our world. In 2020, the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Family Foundation selected the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education as the new home for the Prize.

The McGraw Prize was established in 1988 by the Board of Directors of McGraw-Hill to honor Harold W. McGraw, Jr., the Chair and CEO. Throughout his life and building on his grandfather’s legacy as a teacher, Mr. McGraw was a vocal and vigorous advocate for education. He believed that society needed to celebrate the role of educators.

After three decades, the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education continues to shine a spotlight on innovators who are making lasting advancements for students across our nation and around the world. Prize winners include governors and legislators, superintendents and CEOs, university presidents and professors—even a First Lady of the United States—all dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in education.