South Dakota Tribes

South Dakota is home to nine American Indian tribes:

All of these trace their roots to the OCETI SAKOWIN. Historically, this alliance consisted of the Santee, Yankton and Teton. From family structures to spirituality, the Dakota, Nakota and Lakota people have a rich and colorful culture –one that enriches the past, present and future of South Dakota (Source: South Dakota Office of Indian Education).

Tribal Colleges and Universities

TCUs were created in response to the higher education needs of American Indians and generally serve geographically isolated populations that have no other means accessing education beyond the high school level. TCUs have become increasingly important to educational opportunity for American Indian students and are unique institutions that combine personal attention with cultural relevance to encourage American Indians—especially those living on reservations—to overcome the barriers they face to higher education (Source: AIHEC). There are four tribal colleges and universities in South Dakota: