Skip to main content

South Dakota State University

Close Search

Honor Societies

Purple honors cords

Sigma Theta Tau International

The honor society of Sigma Theta Tau International is available for students who demonstrate superior scholastic achievement and show evidence of professional leadership potential and/or marked achievement in the field of nursing. Therefore, membership is by invitation only and is conferred upon faculty, community leaders, and graduate and undergraduate students who display these qualities.   

Sigma Theta Tau International is a honor society founded to:

  • recognize superior achievement and leadership qualities.
  • foster high professional standards.
  • encourage creative work.
  • strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the nursing profession.  

Phi Chapter #19

Established in 1961, the Phi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International is the 19th national chapter and has two units—one located in Brookings, SD, and the other located in Rapid City, SD. The Phi Chapter also has a Facebook Page that contains additional information.

Important Deadlines

February 20, 2018 at 5 pm CT. Phi Chapter Grant Application (electronic submission) is due to

Upcoming Events

  • SDSU 22nd Annual Helen K. Grace and Nursing Deans Distinguished Lecture - April 5, 2018, Brookings, SD
  • 29th Annual Phi & Zeta Zeta Chapters, Nursing Research Symposium - April 6, 2018, Brookings, SD


  • TBD

Phi Chapter News

  • The Phi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International is pleased to announce their scholarship opportunities include twice a year awards for deserving research/scholarly projects. There will be two research awards which may be awarded twice a year depending on number and type of applications. The deadline for fall of this academic year was October 16, 2017 and the deadline for the spring award is February 20, 2018. Two awards given will be up to $500 per award to SDSU Phi Chapter faculty/community members and/or SDSU graduate students who are Phi Chapter members.

  • Phi Chapter answers STTI President's call to action: Phi chapter was recognized through the Showcase of Regional Excellence for outstanding philanthropic achievement (November 8, 2016).

Phi Chapter Board Roster 2017-2018




President and Electronic Delegate

Sylvia Pickard

July 2017-2019

Past President

Heidi Mennenga

July 2017-2019

1st VP-President Elect/ Electronic Delegate

Mary Isaacson

July 2017-2019


Jody Ness

July 2016-2018


Danielle Schievelbein

July 2017-2019

Vice President

Alham Abuatiq

July 2017-2019

WR Counselor

Jo Voss

July 2017-2019

ER Counselor

Becka Foerster

July 2016-2018

Graduate Student Counselor (assistant)

Anna Atteberry-Gustafson

July 2016-2018


Christina Plemmons

July 2016-2018

Governance Chair

Kay Foland

July 2017-2019

Governance Committee Members

Peggy Jansen

Lois Tschetter

July 2016-2018

Leadership Succession

Robin Brown

July 2016-2018

Leadership Succession Committee Members


Shannon O’Connell

Heidi Pelzel

July 2016-2018


Kay Foland

July 2017-2019


Paula Carson

July 2017-2019

Chapter Key Award

Barbara Hobbs

Cindy Elverson

Venita Winterboer

July 2017-2019