Skip to main content
Close Search

Postgraduate certificate

Students in classroom

Areas of Study  Admission Requirements

Expand your knowledge, skills and credentials

The College of Nursing offers four postgraduate certificates (nurse educator, clinical nurse leader, family nurse practitioner and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner). The certificate programs prepare nurses for advanced practice in leadership, education and clinical practice. 

The APRN-C program option, which is the one certificate accreditation option available through CCNE, allows students with a master's or doctorate degree in nursing to obtain further education to qualify for FNP certification.

Program outcomes for the postgraduate certificates

To prepare clinical nurse leaders, nurse educators, family nurse practitioners and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners:

  • apply knowledge of evidence-based practice,
  • engage in lifelong learning, and
  • serve South Dakota, the region, the nation, and the world in urban, rural and frontier health care settings.

Student learning outcomes

  • Display competence within the legal scope of practice for chosen specialization.
  • Evaluate and utilize research within advanced nursing practice.
  • Integrate cultural learning into nursing practice to effectively tailor health care to the diverse lives of clients.

Certification eligibility

The South Dakota State University postgraduate certificate family nurse practitioner program meets ANCC's certification eligibility educational requirements. Students who complete these programs have the educational preparation to sit for the ANCC certification in the respective role and population. Applicants must also meet any additional eligibility criteria in effect when they apply for certification.

Choose your option

Choose one of our postgraduate certificates to advance your career and fulfill your professional goals:

Are you ready?

Apply Now