Skip to main content

About Us

The North Central Regional Sun Grant Center is located at South Dakota State University in Brookings, SD.  The Center consists of 10 states including Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

We are one of five Regional Sun Grant Centers within the Sun Grant Initiative which was authorized in the 2002, 2008, 2014 and 2018 Farm Bills (click on regions in map below).  All regions are working together to further establish a biobased economy through our national network of land-grant universities and federally-funded laboratories.  The five Sun Grant Centers each use their unique regional resources to meet the common goal of developing biobased alternatives and providing educational programs on America's energy demands while offering economic opportunities for rural areas.

The North Central Sun Grant Center manages a diverse portfolio of projects focusing on bio-renewable energy and products.  Funding for these projects comes from the US Department of Agriculture, Department of Energy, Department of Transportation, and Department of Defense.

Regional Sun Grant Map