Skip to main content

North Central Regional Sun Grant Center

Welcome to the North Central Regional Sun Grant Website

NC Sun Grant Logo

The North Central Regional Sun Grant Center is located at South Dakota State University in Brookings, South Dakota. The Center consists of 10 states including Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

We are one of five Regional Sun Grant Centers within the Sun Grant Initiative which was authorized in the 2002, 2008, 2014 and 2018 Farm Bills. All regions are working together to further establish a bio-based economy through our national network of land-grant universities and federally-funded laboratories. The five Sun Grant Centers each use their unique regional resources to meet the common goal of developing bio-based alternatives and providing educational programs on America's energy demands while offering economic opportunities for rural areas.

The North Central Sun Grant Center manages a diverse portfolio of projects focusing on bio-renewable energy and products. Funding for these projects comes from the US Department of Agriculture, Department of Energy, Department of Transportation and Department of Defense.

The First Fifteen Years Ten Year Report 2016 Summary Report


North Central Regional Sun Grant Center News

See All Our News
corn field being harvested

Chemicals from corn may bond durable plastic materials

Chemicals extracted from corn may one day be used to produce durable, heat-resistant plastic parts, thanks to research conducted by Distinguished Professor Kasiviswanathan Muthukumarappan.

SDSU scientist extracts cellulose from cornstalks

Assistant professor Srinivas Janaswamy is extracting cellulose from corn stover and solubilizing it to make strong, biodegradable films.