Skip to main content

Ness School of Management and Economics forms inaugural advisory board

The Ness School of Management and Economics (NSME) has formed an advisory board, which will officially meet in December. The advisory board “guides NSME on matters of strategic planning and execution, evaluates outcomes associated with the school’s strategic goals, informs the school’s processes of continuous improvement, including those processes associated with the school’s attainment and maintenance of accreditation, and advocates for and supports the school’s strategic plan.”

The plan for the advisory board began this past summer following an internal review by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).

“Delivering exceptional outcomes requires the Ness School of Management and Economics to engage its stakeholders, in part via an advisory board,” explained Joe Santos, director of the Ness School of Management and Economics.

There are nine members on the board, including two non-voting, ex-officio members that include Lynn Sargeant, dean of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Joe Santos. Other members include:

  • Sheila Anderson, Chief Financial Officer, Daktronics, Brookings, SD
  • Jacob Chacko, Dean, College of Business, Clayton State University, Morrow, GA
  • Bill Even, Chief Executive Officer, National Pork Board, Des Moines, IA (formerly, SD Secretary of Ag)
  • Ron Feldman, Executive Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
  • Kira Kimball, Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, Marsh McLennan Agency, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Amber Langner, Vice President, Treasury, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Dave Rozenboom, President, First PREMIER Bank, Sioux Falls, SD

According to Santos, board members represent “principal sectors of our region’s economy—academia, agriculture, banking, healthcare and manufacturing—as well as public-policy and social responsibility spaces.” Members are eligible for up to two consecutive three-year terms. Meetings will occur at least twice annually, allowing students and faculty the opportunity to interact with the board members.