Skip to main content

3 students inducted into international honor society

2022 inductee class of Eta Sigma Delta (with 2021 inductees)
Attending the 2022 Eta Sigma Delta induction event were, from left, Lucas Schobert, Brandon; Sin Ning Wong, Hong Kong; Yee Rae Park, South Korea; Kenna Foss, Hampton, Minnesota; Mia Cramer, Lennox; Meredith Suess, Butterfield, Minnesota. Wong, Park and Foss were this year's inductees while Schubert, Suess and Cramer were inducted in 2021.

Three South Dakota State University students were inducted April 27 into the university’s chapter of Eta Sigma Delta, which is an international honor society that recognizes exceptional academic achievement among hospitality and tourism students. Seniors Yee Rae Park, Bucheon, South Korea, and Sin Ning Wong, Hong Kong, were joined by junior Kenna Foss, Hampton, Minnesota.

The students hold at least a 3.0 GPA in a 4.0 system or are in the top 20% of their class. SDSU’s chapter was founded in 2017 and now has 38 members.

“This recognition demonstrates the outstanding academic achievement, service and professionalism of the hospitality, tourism and event students at South Dakota State University,” said Kendra Kattelmann, a distinguished professor who leads the School of Health and Consumer Sciences. “The hospitality, tourism and event industry is an exciting, dynamic and people-centered field and these students will be substantial contributors to the professionalism of the industry. Only the best hospitality students can claim membership in Eta Sigma Delta. We are happy to celebrate the outstanding academic achievement of our students.”

Eta Sigma Delta is administered by the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education, the leading international association devoted to hospitality and tourism education. Eta Sigma Delta was founded in 1978 by a group of students from the University of New Hampshire’s Whittemore School of Business and Economics. Presently, there are more than 90 chapters around the world.