Skip to main content

South Dakota State inducts 24 into Sigma Theta Tau International


South Dakota State University’s chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International inducted 24 individuals into its membership April 21.

The Phi Chapter, which started at State in 1961, added the following individuals:

  • Sioux Falls Standard
    • Manuela Joka Bogdanovic, Sioux Falls
    • Annie Kruse, Yankton
    • Khina Maya Parsi, Sioux Falls
    • Kaylee Jo Wingen, Crooks
  • Brookings Semester 5
    • Marinda Archer, Onida
    • Alecia Dolan, Milroy, Minnesota
    • Rosette Hulstein, Sioux Center, Iowa
    • Breana Kirsch, Brookings
    • McKenzie Rose Krogmann, Canton
    • Breanna Mehlhaf, Menno
    • Alexandria Joyce Sorenson, Grand Forks, North Dakota
    • Meghan Rose Thill, Brookings
  • Brookings Semester 4
    • Brenna Jo Anderson, Grove City, Minnesota
    • Ashley R. Fischbach, Warner
    • Keeley Marie Fischbach, Warner
    • Katelyn Kay Halverson, Spencer, Iowa
    • Kaylee Ann Hennen, Dell Rapids
    • Kylie Lou Huygens, Baltic
    • Kalli Jelen, Canby, Minnesota
    • Jonathon Kevin Kerkvliet, Watertown
    • Elizabeth Ann Leuthner, Chaska, Minnesota
    • Mariah Pistorius, Browns Valley, Minnesota
    • Jalyn Allen Ufkin, Canby, Minnesota
    • Olivia Jo Welsh, Willmar, Minnesota

To be considered for membership into Sigma Theta Tau, undergraduate students in their fourth or fifth semester need to rank in the upper 35 percent of the graduating class. For graduate students or nurse leaders, the individuals need to demonstrate achievement in the nursing profession.

Sigma Theta Tau International, one of the largest international nursing organizations, works to foster, develop and connect nurse scholars and leaders worldwide to improve health care. The honor society promotes nursing excellence through its initiatives in research, leadership, an electronic library, programming and publications and develops and distributes nursing knowledge for use in practice. Membership to the honor society is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, and to nurse leaders who demonstrate exceptional achievement in nursing.