Skip to main content

SDNA honors seven from College of Nursing

Simulation lab

South Dakota State University’s College of Nursing had seven individuals recognized for their service at the 2021 South Dakota Nurses Association Convention and annual business meeting Oct. 3-4.

The two-day, virtual convention focused on The Year of the Nurse 2020-2021.

SDSU’s honorees were:

  • Rookie of the Year Award – Danielle Currier ’08, instructor.
  • Distinguished Service – Tom Stenvig, M.S.N. ’91, associate professor and Ph.D. program director.
  • Nursing Practice Award – Brenda Andersen ’79/M.S.N. ’86/FNP ’94, associate director of the SDSU Student Health Clinic and Counseling Services.
  • Joy of Nursing Award – Brittany Brennan ’21 Ph.D., temporary clinical instructor.
  • Pioneer in Nursing Award – Sylvia Pickard ’90/M.S.N. ’97, retired faculty member but currently serving as a temporary instructor.
  • Nurse Educator Award – Robin Brown ’83/M.S.N. ’99/Ph.D. ’16, assistant professor.

In addition, Venita Winterboer ’80/M.S.N. ’92, a lecturer on the Brookings campus, was honored for her contributions to the SDNA and the nursing profession for SDNA Districts 8 and 9.

Professor Emerita Kay Foland ’80 was chosen the association’s vice president while Mary Anne Krogh ’85/’11 Ph.D., the college’s dean, was selected to the nominations committee.