Skip to main content

College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences students selected for student ambassador team

Students walk across campus

South Dakota State University’s College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences added 11 members to its student ambassador team. 

The CAFES ambassadors serve the college in a variety of capacities throughout the year, including visiting high schools to recruit future Jackrabbits, attending admissions events and trade shows on behalf of the college and helping at CAFES events such as the annual scholarship banquet, career fair and CAFES Day in the Life program. 

“The CAFES ambassador program is a great opportunity for our current CAFES students to connect with potential new students,” said Brad Blaha, Coordinator of Recruitment and Academic Services for CAFES and adviser of the ambassador program. “As current students, there are no better people to tell the story of the great things happening at SDSU.”

Altogether, the group of student volunteers attend approximately 120 events throughout the school year.
Students are selected for the ambassador program through a competitive interview process. Once selected, students can choose to serve for the remainder of their college career. 

The incoming ambassadors include the following:

  • Anna Poull, animal science, agricultural leadership and agricultural science student from Port Washington, Wisconsin
  • Brennen O’Reilly, dairy manufacturing and electronics engineering technology student from Wayne, Nebraska
  • Daylyn Huper, animal science student from Wells, Minnesota
  • Emily Matejka, agricultural communications student from Sherburn, Minnesota
  • Erin Wagner, agricultural leadership student from Primghar, Iowa
  • Haylee Henry, agricultural communications and agricultural leadership student from London, Ohio
  • Kaitlyn Lorang, agricultural communications student from Morton, Minnesota
  • Karmen Sperr, agricultural communications and agricultural leadership student from Donnelly, Minnesota
  • Ryder Mortenson, agricultural business and business economics student from Winner, South Dakota
  • Samantha Olson, agricultural education student from Aberdeen, South Dakota
  • Zoey Schentzel, agricultural communications student from Farmington, Minnesota

Current ambassadors who will be returning to the program for the next academic year include the following:

  • Alexis Schmidt, agricultural leadership student from Geneva, Nebraska
  •  Amanda Dean, animal science student from Spearfish, South Dakota
  • Bodie Bice, agricultural education student from Waseca, Minnesota
  • Cara Teigum, agricultural leadership student from Madelia, Minnesota
  • Dalton Howe, agronomy student from Redfield, South Dakota
  • Grady Gullickson, animal science and agricultural science student from Flandreau, South Dakota
  • Holly Larson, agricultural education and agricultural leadership student from Medford, Minnesota
  • Kortney Harpestad, animal science student from Wells, Minnesota
  • Kristy Cullinan, natural resource law enforcement student from Glendive, Montana
  • Lauralee Eaton, agricultural education student from Pine Island, Minnesota
  • Leona Meyer, agricultural science and animal science student from Fredonia, Wisconsin
  • Lexie Ignaszewski, agricultural communications and agricultural leadership student from New Richland, Minnesota
  • Lindsey Moser, agricultural communication and public relations student from Morris, Minnesota
  • Meghan Hettinga, dairy production student from Orange City, Iowa
  • Parker Aase, precision agriculture student from Owatonna, Minnesota
  • Sadie Vander Wal, animal science and agricultural communications student from Brentford, South Dakota
  • TJ Bigge, agricultural education student from Parkston, South Dakota