Skip to main content

3 students inducted into international honor society

Students were inducted into the Eta Sigma Delta international honor society
Inducted into South Dakota State University's chapter of the Eta Sigma Delta international honor society were Meredith Suess, Butterfield, Minnesota; Mia Crammer, Lennox, and Lucas Schobert, Brandon. Lyric Gruenhagen, chapter president in 20-21, and Rebecca Hommez, vice president, are on the ends.

Three South Dakota State University students were inducted April 27 into the university’s chapter of Eta Sigma Delta. Inducted were senior Meredith Suess, Butterfield, Minnesota, and juniors Mia Cramer, Lennox, and Lucas Schobert, Brandon.

The students hold at least a 3.0 minimum GPA in a 4.0 system or in the top 20% of their class. SDSU’s chapter was founded in 2017.

“This recognition demonstrates the outstanding academic achievement, service and professionalism of the hospitality and tourism students at South Dakota State University,” said Kendra Kattelmann, a distinguished professor who leads the College of Education and Human Sciences’ Division of Health and Nutritional Sciences and Consumer Sciences. “The hospitality and tourism industry is an exciting, dynamic and people-centered field and these students will be substantial contributors to the professionalism of the industry. Only the best hospitality students can claim membership in Eta Sigma Delta. We are happy to celebrate the outstanding academic achievement of our students.”

Eta Sigma Delta is an international honor society that recognizes exceptional academic achievement among hospitality and tourism students. Eta Sigma Delta is administered by the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education, the leading international association devoted to hospitality and tourism education. Eta Sigma Delta was founded in 1978 by a group of students from the University of New Hampshire’s Whittemore School of Business and Economics. Presently, there are more than 90 chapters around the world.