Skip to main content

SDNA honors seven SDSU graduates

The South Dakota Nurses Association recognized nurses from across the state at its 2020 Annual Business Meeting, held virtually Oct. 4. The 2020 convention marked the organization’s 104th anniversary.

The following South Dakota State University College of Nursing graduates were recognized for their exceptional service, dedication and contributions to the nursing profession:

  • Rookie of the Year Award: Danielle Currier ’08. She currently is an instructor with the college.
  • Distinguished Service Award: Lois Tschetter ’74/M.S. ’85. Now retired from the college faculty and administration, she was chosen the 2014 District 9 Nurse of the Year.
  • Joy of Nursing Award: Kay Foland ’80. Retired from the college faculty as a full-time member, Foland continues working with the psychiatric/mental health certificate program. She was honored by SDNA as its Pioneer recipient in 2009, its President’s Award recipient in 1996 and its District 1 Nurse of the Year in 1990 and District 1-3 Nurse of the Year in 2013.
  • Nurse Educator Award: Megan Hullinger ’12. She is an assistant professor in nursing at Dakota Wesleyan University.

SDSU graduates receiving District Nurse of the Year Awards were:

  • 1, 2 and 3: Jeri Culbertson ’08. She is the director of Infection Control and Sterile Processing at Black Hills Surgical Hospital.
  • 8 and 9: Paula Carson ’75. She is an associate professor with the college.
  • 11: Joanne Tieman M.S. ’90.