Skip to main content
Close Search

Blanchette to receive Mark L. Harvey Legacy Future Professional Scholarship

Danielle Blanchette
Danielle Blanchette

South Dakota State University student Danielle Blanchette has been named the recipient of the Mark L. Harvey Legacy Future Professional Scholarship.

Blanchette will receive the award during the SHAPE America National Convention in Salt Lake City, April 21-25.

The Mark L. Harvey Legacy Future Professional Scholarship is awarded to a college junior or senior who is studying in the fields of health, physical education, recreation and/or dance. The scholarship supports the recipient's attendance at the Central District conference. In 2016, then-SDSU student Erin Ellinger also won the award, which was established in 2011.

A senior from Tyler, Minnesota, Blanchette is majoring in physical education teacher education. Blanchette is also the SHAPE America Major of the Year recipient. She will also receive that award, which recognizes outstanding undergraduate students in the fields of health, physical education, recreation and dance, in Salt Lake City. Blanchette will also be part of a SDSU presentation at the convention.

“Dani’s been committed to the physical education profession since her freshman year. She has not only exhibited leadership here at SDSU within the physical education teacher education program and PETE Jacks Student Majors Club, but has served as an emerging leader/student representative at the state and district level as well for the past three years,” said Tracy Nelson, the program coordinator for SDSU’s physical education teacher education program. “This service has included presentations at the state, district and national levels. Student work in professional organizations often goes unnoticed. Jill VanDamme and I are excited that she is being recognized for her efforts and are proud of her and her dedication to the profession.”

In addition, Nelson received the Honor Award at the 2019 SHAPE SD convention. The award is given to members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of health, physical education, recreation or dance in the state of South Dakota.