SDSU has several honored at Brookings Veterans Day event

2019 Brookings Veterans Day award recipients
South Dakota State University had several representatives honored at the Brookings Veterans Day event, held Monday at the Swiftel Center. The 2019 event marked the 100th year of Veterans Day. Santana Hanson, a student, received the Enlisted Member of the Year Award; Bill Flippo, a senior military instructor with SDSU's Department of Military Science (commonly known as U.S. Army ROTC), received the Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Award; and Marc Rieger, a law enforcement officer with the University Police Department, received the Officer of the Year Award. The awards were presented by the Military and Veterans Affairs Committee. From left are: Brookings mayor Keith Corbett, Hanson, Rieger, Flippo, David Zoelle and Kelsey Doom, the president/CEO of the Brookings Area Chamber of Commerce. Zoelle received the Civilian of the Year Award.