Skip to main content
Close Search

Hellwig named a 2019 American Society of Hospital Pharmacists Fellow

Tadd Hellwig will be inducted a ASHP Fellow in June 2019

South Dakota State University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions Associate Professor Thaddaus Hellwig has been named a 2019 American Society of Hospital Pharmacists Fellow. Hellwig and 21 others will be honored June 11 during the ASHP Summer Meetings and Exhibition in Boston.

“Being named an ASHP Fellow is a great honor,” said Hellwig. “It was a long-term goal that I had set for myself. The fellow status always symbolized to me someone who put a lot of time and effort into the organization but also was involved in helping many other people in a variety of settings. There are numerous people that have helped me along the way, and I hope to do the same with others by presenting them with opportunities to get more involved in ASHP.”

Hellwig, who also works at the Sanford USD Medical Center, has been named the college’s teacher of the year three times. He provides didactic teaching for second- and third-year students both on campus and at the University Center in Sioux Falls. He also serves as a preceptor for internal medicine rotations where student pharmacists learn how to interact with physicians and make medication recommendations in a health-system setting.

“Dr. Hellwig being named an ASHP Fellow is a tremendous accomplishment and a testament to his hard work, mentorship, practice innovation and leadership within ASHP. Dr. Hellwig has truly distinguished himself in every aspect of his work,” said Dean Jane Mort.

A 2006 graduate from the Texas Tech University College of Pharmacy, he went on to a pharmacy practice residency in Delaware and spent a year at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, before coming to South Dakota to pursue teaching and health system pharmacy with SDSU and Sanford Health. Hellwig was honored in 2015 as a distinguished alumnus by the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy.

The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program recognizes pharmacists who have excelled in pharmacy practice and distinguished themselves through service and contributions to ASHP. Members who have achieved FASHP status have successfully demonstrated sustained commitment or contributions to excellence in practice for at least 10 years, contributed to the total body of knowledge in the field, demonstrated active involvement and leadership in ASHP and have been actively involved in and committed to educating practitioners and others. The program has recognized 938 fellows since it began in 1988.