Skip to main content
Close Search

Students receive Upper Midwest Emmy® Student Production Award Nominations

Five South Dakota State University students received an Upper Midwest Emmy® Student Production Award Nomination.

Miranda O’Bryan, a senior from Martin, was nominated in the college talent category for her work in the fall semester in Jacks News productions as part of Assistant Professor Rocky Dailey’s class on TV news reporting. O’Bryan is majoring in journalism and history.

South Dakota State’s entry in the college short film-fiction category was also selected. The film, “Do Not Pass GO,” was produced by Mikaela Neubauer, Joel Quanbeck, Noah Rieber and Kasey Teigen. It was made in Dailey’s introduction to film: honors class in the spring 2018 semester. Neubauer is a senior from Harrisburg, Quanbeck is a junior from Brandon while Reiber is a sophomore from Garretson and Teigen is a sophomore from Camp Crooks.

All five students are also members of SDSU’s Van B. and Barbara B. Fishback Honors College.
The winners will be announced at the 2019 National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences–Upper Midwest Regional Student Television Awards April 12. The ceremony recognizes excellence in media production for high school and college/university students within the NATAS–Upper Midwest region, which consists of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and western Wisconsin.