Skip to main content
Close Search
COVID-19 Updates: Stay Informed

April Brooks Women of Distinction Awards recognize impact

2019 April Brooks Awards
Honored at Tuesday's 2019 April Brooks Women of Distinction Awards were, from left: Susan Kroger, May Dang, Amber Jensen, Sydney Swenson and Maria Kalyvaki. Suzanne Stluka was honored but not present for the photo.

The 2019 April Brooks Women of Distinction Awards went to five individuals who have made an impact on campus in many ways. They were announced Tuesday afternoon at the annual award presentation that was held in the South Dakota Art Museum’s auditorium.

They were: Suzanne Stluka, administration; Amber Jensen, faculty; Maria Kalyvaki, professional staff; Sydney Swenson, undergraduate student; and Susan Kroger, graduate student.

In addition, May Dang was awarded the Dr. April Brooks Memorial Scholarship Fund in Women’s Studies.

This year’s awards were sponsored by South Dakota State University’s Women’s and Gender Studies Program and the School of Communication and Journalism.

“The Dr. April Brooks Women of Distinction Awards are given to women who have illustrated excellence in their careers and have promoted opportunities for historically marginalized groups,” said Becky Kuehl, associate professor and women’s and gender studies program coordinator. “This event celebrates those women selected for the award, as well as all women who were nominated.”

Also nominated were:

  • NFE/Professional Staff: Becky Jensen, Nathania Knight and Amanda Mitchell;
  • Faculty: Evren Celik Wiltse, Donna Flint, Christina Gerometta and Christine Stewart; and
  • Students: Maryam Enteshari, Leah Hendrickson, Madison Hokanson; Pratiksha K C, Florencia Magni, Neha Neha and Meghan Schenk.