Skip to main content
Close Search

Voelzke, Marshman honored by SDSU Foundation with Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership

Cathy Voelzke and the late John “Jack” Marshman were honored with the Jerome J. Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership in recognition of their involvement and support of the South Dakota State University Foundation.

The award was given Oct. 12 in conjunction with the SDSU Foundation’s fall Council of Trustees meeting. Jerry Lohr, one of SDSU’s largest benefactors and a member of its board since 1988, made the announcement.

Cathy Voelzke, center, received the Jerome J. Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership. Jerome J. Lohr is at her left and her husband, Vern, is at her right.
Cathy Voelzke, center, received the Jerome J. Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership. Lohr and her husband, Vern, flank her.

Voelzke, a native of Gregory, has been a member of the Foundation’s Council of Trustees since 2003. She was a nutrition marketing program manager for Midwest Dairy Association in Brookings until her retirement in 2004. She has served on the board for the past nine years.

A 1966 family and consumer sciences education graduate, she also earned a master’s degree in nutrition education in 1988. Her husband, Vern, is an SDSU alumnus.

Ellie Marshman, center, received the Jerome J. Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership in honor of her late husband, Jack. She is surrounded by her three daughters, son-in-law, granddaughter and Jerome J. Lohr.
Ellie Marshman, center, received the Jerome J. Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership in honor of her late husband, Jack.

Marshman was a trustee for eight and one-half years before his death in July 2018. Marshman and Lohr had a long professional relationship that included the renovation of Solberg Hall. Lohr was one of the lead donors to the project while Marshman was president of Sioux Falls Construction, which completed the restoration.

Marshman earned his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering in 1955. He has been honored as a Distinguished Engineer and a Distinguished Alumni. His wife, Ellie, and their three daughters were among the family members accepting the award.

The SDSU Foundation created the award in 1999 as a tribute to Lohr, who has actively served on its board without interruption since 1988. The award is designated to recognize an individual “who demonstrates exemplary volunteer leadership on behalf of the Foundation and outstanding philanthropic support of SDSU.” The award is not just about financial contributions, but significant contributions of time and expertise to the betterment of SDSU.

Recipients must serve on the Foundation’s Council of Trustees, which currently has 104 members, including two student ex-officio members. Lohr selects the winner, in consultation with Foundation staff and leadership.

“For all that Jerry Lohr does at SDSU, this is among the most meaningful to him,” said Steve Erpenbach, SDSU Foundation president and CEO. “He invests so much time at the Foundation, and that results in strong personal relationships with his fellow trustees. It’s important to him that he’s able to recognize his colleagues with this honor.”

It is the first time Lohr honored two people in the same year.

Voelzke and Marshman are only the 14th and 15th recipients of the prestigious award. Other recipients include:

  • Anson Yeager, former editor of the Argus Leader and lead donor of Yeager Hall who died in 2005;
  • Roland Jensen, a former energy industry leader who served on the board until his death in 2006;
  • Dr. Charles “Scotty” Roberts, a physician and local philanthropist until his death in 2004;
  • Bill Larson, a Colorado rancher who earned three degrees at SDSU in the 1960s;
  • Aelred J. Kurtenbach of Brookings, a co-founder of Daktronics;
  • Duane Sander of Brookings, a co-founder of Daktronics;
  • Errol EerNisse of Salt Lake City, an electrical engineering graduate and founder of multiple research-based companies;
  • Barbara B. Fishback of Brookings, a home economics graduate who is active in local, regional and statewide organizations;
  • Dana Dykhouse, an agricultural business graduate and CEO of First PREMIER Bank in Sioux Falls;
  • Duane Harms, an agricultural business graduate and owner and president of Harms Oil Co. in Brookings;
  • Paul Moriarty, a homebuilder, developer and apartment owner in Brookings;
  • Bill Folkerts, real estate investor and owner in Watertown; and
  • Keith Bartels, former vice president of The Martin Group Inc. in Mitchell.