Skip to main content
Close Search

Swedlund, Warne named finalists for Spirit of Dakota Award

Harriet Swedlund
Harriet Swedlund

Harriet Swedlund and Beverly Warne have been chosen as finalists for the Spirit of Dakota’s 32nd Anniversary Award. The award will be presented Oct. 6 at the Huron Event Center.

Beverly Warne
Beverly Warne

Swedlund, South Dakota State University’s assistant professor emerita of apparel merchandising and director of international programs emerita, and Warne, the program coordinator and adviser at SDState’s Native American Nursing Education Center in Rapid City, are joined by: Kay Ainslie, Philip; Marlys David, Parker; Bonnie Fuller, Lead; Dr. Patti Giebink, Sioux Falls; Maxine Johnson, Vermillion; and Barbara Rilling, Onida.

Swedlund started on the SDState faculty in 1984 and became the director of international programs in 1994. She also was the South Dakota World Affairs Council’s executive director from 2004-13.

Warne has been at the forefront of support for Native American nursing students at SDState. She previously coordinated Arizona State University’s American Indian Students United for Nursing Project and helped establish a Native American Nurses Association.

The award is given to a woman who has demonstrated vision, courage and strength of character in the development of her family, community and/or state.

The winner receives an individually created framed bronze oval with the pioneer woman sculpted by South Dakota Artist Laureate Dale Lamphere and modeled after his 9-foot sculpture that stands outside the Crossroads Hotel.