Skip to main content
Close Search

Department hosts Celebration of Excellence banquet and recognizes student scholarship recipients

Student at the Celebration of Excellence

The department of economics hosted the 64th Annual Excellence in Economics on April 24th.

This annual event is coordinated and hosted by the combined economics student organizations. and celebrates the achievements of the economics department, its distinguished alumni, professors, students and student organizations.  

The department recognized two Distinguished Alumni in 2018 for their outstanding contributions to their profession and SDSU; Mark Leddy, former CEO of Valley Queen Cheese Factory and Merl Hackbart, Provost’s Distinguished Service Professor of Finance and Public Administration at the University of Kentucky.

Both distinguished alumni provide perspective on how their education at SDSU influenced their career choice and path.
Drs. Larry Janssen, Scott Fausti and Carol Cumber, were recognized as Professor Emeritus/Emerita for 37, 25 and 26 years of service respectively, to SDSU.

Barb Heller, Lecturer and Entrepreneurial Studies Coordinator, was recognized by the undergraduate students students as Undergraduate Teacher of the Year. Dr. Nacasis Ujah was recognized by the Graduate Student Association as Graduate Teacher of the Year.

Student clubs and organizations activities, trips and achievements were shared with the audience prior to the awarding and recognition of all the scholarship recipients, and inductees into the Economics Honor Society.