Skip to main content
Close Search

Three Jackrabbits win National Dairy Board scholarships

Three South Dakota State University students have been recognized for their achievements by being awarded scholarships from the National Dairy Promotion & Research Board. State had the most recipients of any university receiving scholarships.

Kirby Krogstad, Baltic, Audrey Souza, Milbank, and Jacob Weg, Worthington, Minnesota, each receive a $2,500 scholarship from the NDPRB through Dairy Management Inc.

"The recognition for these students speaks to the quality and experience they bring with them when they come to SDSU," said Vikram Mistry, department head of the dairy and food science department. "They are committed to dairy and the industry's future. These are accomplished students and young professionals on their way to being contributors in the dairy industry."

The annual scholarships are given to sophomore, junior or senior students enrolled in collegiate programs that emphasize dairy, including communications, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science and agricultural education.

Scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement, interest in a dairy career and demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity. Candidates complete an application, submit their college transcript and write a short statement describing their career aspirations, dairy-related activities and work experiences.