Skip to main content
Close Search
Close Search

SDSU awards dairy science scholarships to enable study

The Dairy Science Department at South Dakota State University awarded $75,400 in scholarships for the 20010-11 academic year at the department’s spring banquet April 5. The banquet served 175 people, including students, parents, donors and supporters, SDSU faculty and staff, and industry representatives.

A total of 93 scholarships and awards were presented, including 16 incoming student scholarships. The top two scholarships, the Emery Bartle Memorial Scholarship ($5,000) and Valley Queen Cheese Factory Scholarship ($4,000), went to Melissa Lax of Sleepy Eye, Minn., and Nicole Stevens of Pipestone, Minn., respectively.

According to Vikram Mistry, professor and head of the Dairy Science Department, donor support remains strong with supporters hailing from 19 states.

“Economic times today are stressful, but our number of donors has continued to grow and expand,” he said. “This is very humbling. We are very grateful to the donors for supporting our students, the program and ultimately the dairy industry.

“Without the support through these scholarships and awards many students would not be able to attend SDSU,” added Mistry. “Because of these scholarships we are able to attract students to the dairy science program.”

The award’s program included presentations of judging team activities and an address by 2010 South Dakota Dairy Princess, Emily Jungemann, a dairy production sophomore from Wolsey.

• Dairy Science scholarship and cash awards for current SDSU students with listed donors are:

South Dakota

Heather Jons, Bonesteel, Dairy Club, $500; Midwest Dairy Association, $1,500; Dairy Judging Production, $150; Forbes Leadership, $300; Howard Voelker Memorial, $250.

Rebecca Hanson, Brandon, John Anderson Memorial, $1,000; Schreiber Foods, $1,500.

Alex Ode, Brandon, Dairy Challenge Team, $150.

Cassey Utke, Brandon, Alfred Tobkin Memorial, $110; Dairy Judging Manufacturing, $150; Virginia Dare, $250.

Joshua Oakley, Dakota Dunes, Alfred Herman Rishol Memorial, $650.

Nathan Gollnick, Flandreau, Gilbert T. & Olga Gilbertson Memorial, $500.

Luke Rensink, Freeman, Dairy Connections, $1,000.

Stephanie Nussbaum, Garretson, John C. Gross Scholarship, $1,000.

Jordan Dorneman, Milbank, Derdall, $500; Alfred Tobkin Memorial, $110.

Mitchell Maher, Nunda, Dairy Science, $550.

Lee Alexander, Twin Brooks, Dairy Science, $350; William & Marge Kallemeyn & Sons, $650.

Kayla Holscher, Twin Brooks, North Central Cheese Industries, $1,400.

Michael Dunn, Vale, Ross Baker, $550.

Ana Schweer, Watertown, I-29 Dairy Scholarship, $500; Kemps, LLC, $1,500.

Gerben Landman, White, Howard Voelker Memorial, $250.

Roxane Chapman, Winfred, Clyde Helsper Memorial, $500; Joseph Van Treeck, $1,000.

Emily Jungemann, Wolsey, James Marvel Memorial, $400; South Dakota State Dairy Association, $1,000.


Renae Hinkeldey, Alta, Alfred Herman Rishol Memorial, $650.

Samantha (Wahls) Erickson, Postville, Dairy Club, $500; North Central Cheese Industries, $1,800; Dairy Challenge Team, $150; Graber-Ford, $100.


Ashley Schroeder, Castle Rock, Dairy Science, $250.

Morgan Petersen, Cokato, Saputo Cheese, $1,000.

Grace Liebenstein, Dundas, Dairy Farmers of America, $400; Dairy Science, $600.

Jessica Becker, Eden Valley, Ralph Rogers Memorial, $600.

Megan Forst, Gibbon, Midwest Dairy Association, $1,500; Student Employee Excellence, $250.

Katelyn Crocker, Grand Rapids, Todd & Erica Stahl Scholarship, $1,000.

April Johnson, Heron Lake, Land O’Lakes-Region 65, $300; Ryan Graber Memorial, $1,000; T.M. Olson, $750.

Danielle Tews, Hutchinson, South Dakota State Dairy Association, $1,000.

Holly Bruns, Lafayette, Dairy Challenge Team, $150.

Abigail Wirt, Lewiston, Dairy Challenge Team, $150; Delbert F. Breazeale Memorial, $500.

Molly Paterson, Marshall, Kemps, LLC, $1,500.

Brittany Moorse, Minneota, Milk Producers Association, $1,000.

Valerie Mohr, New Ulm, South Dakota State Dairy Association, $1,000.

Nicole Stevens, Pipestone, Valley Queen Cheese Factory, $4,000; Alfred Tobkin Memorial, $110.

Jennifer Vander Wal, Pipestone, Schuch Family Scholarship, $1,000.

Cody Van Eck, Ruthton, Heifers for State, $500.

Kaitlin Van Eck, Ruthton, South Dakota State Dairy Association, $1,000.

Ethan Pidde, Sanborn, Royal & Helen Doner Freshman in Dairy Production, $400; Student Employee Excellence, 250.

Johnna Schuur, Sauk Centre, Danisco, $1,000.

Melissa Lax, Sleepy Eye, Emery Bartle Memorial, $5,000.

Angela Sellner, Sleepy Eye, North Central Cheese Industries, $1,800.

Austin Asche, Stewart, J.J. Yee, $500; South Dakota State Dairy Association, $1,000.

Brittany Albrecht, Stewart, Walt & Yvonne Wosje Scholarship, $1,000.

Angela Klaers, Wabasso, Walt & Yvonne Wosje Scholarship, $1,000.

Sarah Schnieder, Worthington, Davisco Foods International, $750.


Megan Rice, Firth, Robert F. Sistowicz Memorial, $1,250; Howard Voelker Memorial, $250.

Cory Zelfel, Kennard, Dean Foods-Land O’Lakes, $1,000.

North Dakota

Kara Gutormson, Maddock, Danisco, $1,000; David H. Henry Memorial in Ag & Bio Sciences, $250.


Laura McMartin, Gerber, Heifers for State, $500.


Rachel Patrick, Eatonton, Kirk Mears Memorial, $1,150.


Eric McNeel, Blackfoot, H.C. Olson, $550; Shirley Seas Memorial, $500.

Todd Wight, Pocatello, WOW Logistics Donald E. Utschig, $2,000.