Skip to main content
students walk by trees

South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit

The Cooperative Research Unit program was established in 1935 to enhance graduate education in fisheries and wildlife sciences and to facilitate research between natural resource agencies and universities on topics of mutual concern. Today, there are 40 Cooperative Research Units in 38 states. Each unit is a partnership among the U.S. Geological Survey, a state natural resource agency, a host university and the Wildlife Management Institute.

Staffed by federal personnel, Cooperative Research Units conduct research on renewable natural resource questions, participate in the education of graduate students, provide technical assistance and consultation on natural resource issues and provide continuing education for natural resource professionals.

SDState and the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks are the local contributors in the South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit. Since its formation in 1963, approximately 245 graduate students also have been "unit" students.

We invite you to explore our website further and check out our research projects, meet our graduate students and review exciting new research findings.

South Dakota Coop Unit

South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Staff