Skip to main content

David W. Willis Faculty Excellence Award

Section - Department of Natural Resource Management


  • All full-time faculty with an appointment in Natural Resource Management and USGS Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit adjunct faculty are eligible.
  • Awardees are ineligible for two years following receipt of this honor.


  • Up to three candidates will be nominated by the NRM Department Head for consideration each year.

Nomination requirements (to be provided by the candidates): 

  • Cover letter listing what is included in the nomination packet.
  • Curriculum vita of the nominee that emphasizes their combined teaching/advising, research and service contributions over the last five years at SDSU.
  • Up to two letters of support from faculty, highlighting the quality and impact of the nominee's combined efforts.
  • Up to three supporting letters from current or former students or professional colleagues on the quality and impact of the nominee's faculty contributions.

Nomination Criteria:

To be eligible to receive the Dave Willis Award for Faculty Excellence, a faculty member must, at a minimum, demonstrate significant contributions to and impact from their total combined role in teaching, advising, research and service relative to their defined role: 

  1. Teaching: Substantially exceeding expectations in efforts devoted to insuring the quality of the student's learning experience and outcomes;
  2. Advising: Substantially exceeding expectations in advising and mentoring undergraduate students through their undergraduate curriculum, internship and undergraduate research;
  3. Research: Substantially exceeding expectations in grantsmanship, publishing and graduate student advising; and
  4. Service: Substantially exceeding expectations in contributions to their profession, University and community-at-large by serving in appointed and elected leadership roles.

Selection Committee Composition:

  • Awardees will serve on the committee for two years following their selection.
  • The NRM Department Head serves as an ex officio member.


  • Nominees are informed by the NRM Department Head of their candidacy by May 1 (preceding year)
  • Nomination packets are due annually on November 15.
  • The committee shall come to a decision by February 15 of each Spring semester.
  • The award will be made during the Annual Award & Scholarship Banquet awards ceremony during the Spring semester.