Skip to main content

Industry Advisory Council

The Mechanical Engineering Department at South Dakota State University seeks meaningful and regular interaction with the department's constituents as a vital part of its continuous improvement process. Alumni and employers are important constituent groups and are in a position to contribute valuable feedback on the program's outcomes and objectives. The purpose of the SDSU Mechanical Engineering Advisory Council is to provide external input and exchange of information with the department that will result in continuous program improvement.

Particular tasks are: 

  • To act as an alert sounding board on M.E. professional and technical activities. 
  • To make suggestions to the M.E. Department on curriculum changes.
  • To facilitate communication between the University and the public.
  • To be a channel for the dissemination of information. 
  • To provide information on trends in technology, science, engineering and the workplace. 
  • To give direction and exchange information on economic and societal needs and changes. 
  • To assist the program in development of appropriate resources to maintain high quality in performing its mission.

Mechanical Engineering Advisory Council Members




Joel BordewykPOETBingham Lake, MN
Mike Brandt3MBrookings, SD
Bart BrostShowplace Wood ProductsHarrisburg, SD
Troy EricksonDaktronicsBrookings, SD
Steve FinkTessier's Inc.Sioux Falls, SD
Traci GellerXcel EnergyMinneapolis, MN
Darrin HofmesiterCrenlo Engineered CabsWatertown, SD
Jim HulsLink ManufacturingSioux Center, IA
Douglas JatonKBR at the USGS EROS CenterSioux Falls, SD
Chris LeMairHydroGreenSioux Falls, SD
John MahoneyTwin City Fan Co.Sioux Falls, SD
Nate NearmanDaktronicsBrookings, SD
Jon NessRFA EngineeringEden Prairie, MN
Jason OllerichIngersoll RandSioux Falls, SD
Shaun RiedeselImmutrix TherapeuticsRapid City, SD
Jonathan RoehrlBobcat CompanyBismarck, ND
Sidney SmithTSPSioux Falls, SD
Ross WilcoxonCollins AerospaceCedar Rapids, IA