Skip to main content
Close Search

2019 Asphalt Conference Tentative Agenda


               WEDNESDAY - February 27th

11:00 - 1:00      On-Site Registration -- Ramkota Lobby
                         Moderator - Ken Swedeen
                         Dakota Asphalt Pavement Association

1:00 - 1:10        Opening Remarks -
                         Greg Vavra, Program Manager SDLTAP

1:10 - 2:00        Preventative Maintenance Performance -
                         Adriana Vargas, NCAT

2:00 - 2:30        Tack Coat Performance
                         Dr. Rouzbeh Ghabchi

2:30 - 3:00        2019 Trucking Update
                         Stu Zick, Jebro

3:00 - 3:30       Networking Break

3:30 - 4:00       Dial in your Chip and Shot Rate for a Successful Project
                        Gill Hedman - Central Technical Provider SDLTAP

4:00 - 5:00       Panel - Base Stabilization and Adding a Wear Course
                        Dirk Rodger, Brown County Highway Superintendent
                        Tom Mertz, Loiseau Construction Inc.

5:00                 Social - Heavy hors d’oeuvre                                                   


Blocks of rooms have been reserved for conference participants at the Ramkota Hotel in Pierre at 605-224-6877. Be sure to ask for the special Asphalt Conference room rate. Please reserve rooms early!

          THURSDAY - February 28th

                      Moderator- Ken Skorseth
                      Retired SDLTAP Program Manager

7:00 - 8:00    Breakfast Buffet

8:00 - 8:30    Edge Repair & Rut Box Filling
                     Dave Sorenson - Kingsbury County
                     Pierre Region SDDOT

8:30 - 9:30    Where have all the Cutbacks Gone
                      Ryan Lynch, Flint Hills Resources

9:30 - 10:00   Networking Break

10:00 - 10:45 Using PAVExpress to Figure Asphalt & Base Thickness
                       Amy Miller PAVExpress

10:45 - 11:15 SDDOT Asphalt Concrete Update:
                      Rick Rowen, SDDOT

11:15 - 11:30 Ride Quality Awards:
                      Ken Swedeen, DAPA       

11:30 - 12:00 Door Prizes & Wrap Up:

Mark Blow, PE, Sr. Regional Engineer, The Asphalt Institute, Harrisburg, SD 
Rouzbeh Ghabchi, PhD, Asst Professor, SDSU College of Engineering, Brookings, SD
Tom Grannes, PE, Materials Engineer, SDDOT, Pierre, SD
Gill Hedman, Technical Assistance Provider, SDLTAP, Pierre, SD
Mark Hoffman, Sales Engineer, L.G. Everist, Inc., Sioux Falls, SD
Ryan Johnson, Specifications Engineer, SDDOT, Pierre, SD
Doug Kinniburgh, LGA Office, SDDOT, Pierre, SD
Andrew Peterson, Field Services Manager, SDLTAP, Brookings, SD
Rich Reid, PhD, PE, Associate Dean, SDSU College of Engineering, Brookings, SD
Dirk Rogers, Highway Superintendent, Brown County, Aberdeen, SD
Rick Rowen, Bituminous Engineer, SDDOT, Pierre, SD
Dave Sorenson, Highway Superintendent, Kingsbury County, DeSmet, SD
Ken Swedeen, PE, Executive Director, DAPA, Pierre, SD
Greg Vavra, Program Manager, SDLTAP, Brookings, SD
Stu Zick, Sales Manager, Jebro, Inc., Sioux City, IA      

Professional Development Hour (PDH) Certificates will be issued at the conference to those who are interested in obtaining them.