2015 Awards

Researcher of the Year - 2015

Dr. Qiao
Qiquan Qiao, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

Dr. Qiao, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, is an internationally renowned scholar in the field of photovoltaics. His major research achievements focus on next-generation photovoltaic materials and devices, with an emphasis on polymer photovoltaics and dye-sensitized solar cells, to address challenges in photovoltaic technologies and seek efficient and affordable solutions for future energy applications. Since joining SDSU in 2007, Dr. Qiao has been intensively and extensively engaged in global collaboration and establishing joint research programs covering Israel, Egypt, Pakistan, Korea, and China. Dr. Qiao’s achievements include over 106 high-impact journal articles (including leading journals Energy and Environmental Science, Nano Energy, Advanced Materials, Advanced Functional Materials, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, Nanoscale, and Nano Research), 1 book, 10 book chapters, and 140 presentations and posters (including MRS, NanoTek, SPIE  Organic Photovoltaic, and ACS meetings), and holds one patent.  During his stay at SDSU, Dr. Qiao (as PI/Co-PI) has been awarded over 26 research grants with total funding at $6.4 MM from NSF, NASA, NAS/USAID, 3M, Agilent, Sanford, SDBOR CRGP, ACS PRF DNI, and has advised 6 Ph.D. and 11 MS students to successful graduation.  In the year 2015, Dr. Qiao received five new grants totaling $1.12MM as PI/co-PI, published 39 journal papers in internationally recognized leading publications (for which Dr. Qiao is either lead or corresponding author on 24 papers), has given 12 contributed and invited conference presentations at international conferences, workshops, or other institutions, graduated 1 PhD and 6 MS students, and is currently advising 11 Ph.D. and 4 MS students.

Young Investigator of the Year - 2015

Cedric Neumann
Cedric Neumann, Assistant Professor, Mathematics & Statistics

Dr. Neumann's research in forensic statistics focuses on moving the interpretation of evidence away from the flawed, highly variable opinion-based procedures that have been used for decades, and towards rigorously repeatable and defensible statistically-based procedures.  The results of his research have been published nearly forty times in international professional journals and other influential venues, presented at conferences around the globe, and has been or will soon be featured in such publications as Nature, Science, and National Geographic.  He has received nearly $5 million in external research support over the course of his career.  He has received numerous awards and recognitions, including the Certificate of Appreciation from the Under-Secretary of U.S. Homeland Security for his work in support of the U.S. Secret Service, the European Forensic Science Institute’s Emerging Forensic Scientist Award, SDSU’s Sherwood and Elizabeth Berg Young Faculty Award, and having been appointed Co-Chair of the NSF’s Forensic Statistics Program at the Statistics and Applied Mathematics Institute.  His research has improved the interpretation of many forms of evidence, increased acceptance and usage of statistical evidence interpretation, and improved the functioning of justice systems in the U.S. and Europe.


Grantswinship Awards - 2015

The College of Engineering Grantswinship awards recognize faculty who have developed a substantial amount of research and external funding activity. The criteria for receiving one of these annual awards is that the faculty member must have received, or had expenditures of, external funding in the amount of $100,000 or more during the fiscal year. This year we were delighted to make these awards to individuals from all departments within our college.  Our congratulations go to each of them, and we hope to present the same award to them next year, as well as to additional faculty members.


Grantswinship Award Winners
Grantswinship Award Winners


Left to Right, beginning with back row: Ken Skorseth, Sharon Vestal, Stephen Gent, Chris Schmit,
Middle Row: Rich Ried, Ross Abraham, Cedric Neumann, Suzette Burckhard, Dennis Helder,
Front Row: Nadim Wehbe, QiHua Fan, Sung Shin, Qiquan Qiao
Award winners not pictured: Jon Puetz, Fereidoon Delfanian, Chris Saunders