Skip to main content
Close Search

Year 2 Annual Report

Nursing laboratory

South Dakota State University is the state’s 1862 Morrill Act land-grant university. It is the largest, most comprehensive university in South Dakota.

The university confers degrees through six colleges and serves students from all 50 states and 81 counties who can choose from more than 175 majors, minors and specializations. Also offered are 33 master’s degree programs, 15 Ph.D. programs and professional doctoral degrees in nursing and pharmacy.

The American Association of University Professors recently categorized SDSU as a Category 1 or doctoral-level institution. The recognition is the result of reaching guidelines for the number of doctoral recipients and the range in doctoral-level program offerings. The university has more than tripled the number of doctorate completions in less than 10 years, growing from 14 in 2006 to 47 in 2014.

Courses and degrees are offered through the colleges of Agriculture and Biological Sciences, Arts and Sciences, Education and Human Sciences, University College, Nursing, Pharmacy, the Jerome J. Lohr College of Engineering, the Van D. and Barbara B. Fishback Honors College and the Graduate School.

Over the last five years, university research has yielded 230 invention disclosures, 65 patents filed, 9 patents issued and 40 license agreements executed through the Office of Technology Transfer and Commercialization, resulting in more than $10 million in licensing revenue.

South Dakota State has been designated an Innovation and Economic Prosperity University by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities and its Commission of Innovation, Competitiveness and Economic Prosperity. The designation recognizes the university for its work with public and private sector partners in states and regions to support economic development through a variety of activities including innovation and entrepreneurship, technology transfer, talent and workforce development, and community development.