Skip to main content
Menu
Close Search

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is SDSU's Historical Honor Society dedicated to research and education in the subject of History. It is considered a professional organization that involves students in the world of history and it looks great on any résumé! Students in Phi Alpha Theta participate in many of the same activities hosted by the History Club.  Every year at the beginning of the Fall Semester Phi Alpha Theta sponsors a mixer for professors and students and gives everyone a stress free environment in which to meet and get to know one another!  If you meet the requirements, we suggest that you consider joining, since membership in an honor society is an indication of academic achievement. The lifetime membership fee is $50, which includes a one-year subscription to the society's history journal.

Our academic advisor is Dr. Graham Wrightson and we elect new officers at the end of every year. Initiation will be during the fall semester in order to incorporate every new student (check back for initiation dates).  We will elect new officers in the spring at the final meeting. Phi Alpha Theta is a great opportunity and we hope to see you at the next meeting!

Phi Alpha Theta

President: Avery Sage  avery.sage@jacks.sdstate.edu

Vice President: Alanna Ragle  alanna.ragle@jacks.sdstate.edu

Treasurer: Holly Polak  holly.polak@jacks.sdstate.edu

Secretary: Dustin Manzey  dustin.manzey@jacks.sdstate.edu

Communications: Nathan Stafford:  nathan.stafford@jacks.sdstate.edu

Membership: Ashley Davis:  ashley.davis@jacks.sdstate.edu

Advisor: Dr Graham Wrightson, graham.wrightson@sdstate.edu

Requirements

  • 12 credits in history
  • 3.0 GPA in History Courses
  • 3.1 Overall GPA Completion
  • $50 lifetime membership fee for new members

 

Dr Graham Wrightson

 

Dr. Graham Wrightson received the Certificate for Outstanding Advisor to Student Organizations. Dr. Wrightson is the advisor for the Phi Alpha Theta History Honors Society organization.