Skip to main content

Graduate Council

South Dakota State University Graduate Council

The SDSU Graduate Council was formed to help articulate a vision of excellence for the graduate community. Members provide quality control for all aspects of graduate education and maintain equitable standards across all academic disciplines. The Graduate Council helps define what Graduate education is and what it is not, bringing an institution-wide perspective to all post baccalaureate endeavors and providing an interdisciplinary perspective. The Graduate Council serves not only as an advocate for graduate education, but to enhance the intellectual community of scholars among both graduate students and faculty. Main goals include emphasizing the importance of adequately training graduate students and developing ways for graduate education to contribute to and enhance undergraduate education. The Graduate Council provides support for the Graduate School and serves as an advocate for issues and constituencies critical to the success of graduate programs.

Pink sky

2020-2021 Graduate Council Members

  • Nicole Lounsbery, Director of Graduate School
  • Kristi Tornquist, Dean of the Library
  • Joshua Leffler, Assistant Professor of Natural Resource Management
  • Lan Xu, Professor of Natural Resource Management
  • Alper Kayaalp, Assistant Professor of Industrial/Organizational Psychology
  • Rocky Dailey, Assistant Professor of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Erin Lavender-Stott, Assistant Professor of Counseling & Human Development
  • Jessica Meendering, Professor of Health & Nutritional Sciences
  • Rouzbeh Ghabchi, Assistant Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering          
  • Cedric Neumann, Associate Professor of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Parashu Kharel, Assistant Professor of Physics
  • Nicholas Butzin, Assistant Professor of Biology & Microbiology
  • Leann Horsley, Assistant Dean/Assistant Professor of Nursing
  • Robin, Arends, Clinical Assistant Professor of Graduate Nursing
  • Josh Reineke, Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Jeremy Daniel, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Clinical